Vista 32-bit and 4GB RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2008, 11:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Phoenix219's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Default Re: Vista 32-bit and 4GB RAM

I tried out vista 64 for my new system and I hated it. For some reason it was much slower than vista 32, so I just switched back to that. Isn't there a hack you can do to get 32-bit os's to recognize more than 4gb of ram?

EVGA 780i Motherboard
2gb OCZ Reaper 900mhz 4-4-4-12
EVGA 8800gts 512mb 800/1080
2x Western Digital 250gb SATAII Raid0
Antec 850w PSU
Antec 900 Case
3DMark06 - 15544
Phoenix219 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 12:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Vista 32-bit and 4GB RAM

If you have an intel and run vista 64 bit it will run slower. Intel don't support 64 bit cause INTEL SUCKS.

AmdFanboy is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Vista 32-bit and 4GB RAM

wtf are you talking about??

only thing that makes Vista run slow is lack of RAM or if you are barely pushing the 1ghz CPU limit

so far almost all the new Processors from Intel are 64bit Compatible (actually all of them are) the first ones that did were the Pentium 4 Prescotts and every processor to the Intel Core 2 Extreme qx9650 supports 64bit

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista speculations... Pastasauce Microsoft Windows and Software 20 12-26-2007 05:34 PM
32 Bit Vista - 2 or 4 gb? (yes I know about the 3.3ish limitation) Jayce Microsoft Windows and Software 8 12-23-2007 12:11 AM
To all of you who want 4 GB of Ram w/ 32 bit OS motoxer4533 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-18-2007 07:36 PM
2GB DDR2 RAM to 4GB madking153 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-13-2007 05:06 PM
XP x32 vs. XP x64 vs. Vista.. dcanup Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-11-2007 06:05 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.