Vista 32 or 64bit For My Machine? Which for gaming - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2007, 02:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Vista runs fine on my comp and its improved leaps and bounds since beta and RC1 in its resource department. If you expected to run it on 256MB then your a fool anyway everyone knew what to expect. 64 bit is pointless as nothing utilises it yet and no driver support. Directx 10 is out now but show me a game thats out which uses it.

End of topic
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 03:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm, i see 64 bit being the better use for later on in the future... there's not a single premade computer out now that isnt 64 bit.. i'm pretty **** sure programs are gonna switch over within the next couple years
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 03:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Yeah I seen ATI just released their 7.1 Driver's for 64 bit if I recall.
A few games here soon will be out that will release patchs for DX10.
augest is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 03:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

Then 64bit is future proof, but will the 32 bit drivers that nvidia puts out work if I have the 64bit version????
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 03:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waytoosmall
Then 64bit is future proof, but will the 32 bit drivers that nvidia puts out work if I have the 64bit version????
I do not believe so my friend. I'm 97% positive you need 64-bit drivers.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

So now I see that Nvidia is releasing 64bit drivers as well. So windows 64bit will play 32bit games as long as your video card drivers are for the 64bit version? And do you think Nvidia will update their 64bit driver for game optimization as often as they will update their 32bit version?
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Hm, Well with them releasing both 32 & 64 bit Together, I would bet they will.

Just my opinion.
augest is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 05:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waytoosmall
So now I see that Nvidia is releasing 64bit drivers as well. So windows 64bit will play 32bit games as long as your video card drivers are for the 64bit version? And do you think Nvidia will update their 64bit driver for game optimization as often as they will update their 32bit version?
Yes, it will play 32bit games aslong as you have a 64-bit driver and you're running any version of windows in 64-bit with a proc that supports 64-bit.

With Windows Vista out now and alot of computers coming w/ it, It would be safe to assume they will release 64-bit driver updates just as often as 32-bit drivers. Especially since we're moving slowly to DX10 games. As far as what cards they have 64-bit drivers for, I don't know.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 05:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

i would get the 64bit versoin it may have terrible driver support but when i dowloaded the trial x64 xp pro it ran hl2(which supports 64bit btw) at 10-20 fps faster(x64 is also more secure and future proof)
__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 05:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Well the driver support issue will get better over time. Your main reason for wanting to get a 64-bit version of Vista would be to "future" proof your computer. So when 64-bit apps are available, you'll be set. But I don't think that's going to happen soon.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.