Video Editing Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2009, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 196
Question Video Editing Build

I'm used to making gaming builds, but new to video editing builds. Looking to spend $1000 or less.

Can you guys help me build a good video editing machine? Mainly used for camcorder rips to the hard driving using Visual Studio (Corel)


I found a build here that looks pretty good. It uses a 3ware 4port sataII raid card.

Cerise Quad-Core Workstation Computer System

Newegg.com - 3ware 9650SE-4LPML PCI Express Lanes: 4 SATA II Controller Card RAID Levels 0, 1, 5, 10, Single Disk, JBOD - Controllers / RAID Cards
__________________

__________________
Gateway
Quad Q9300
DDR2 6GB
ATI 4850 512MB
Acer 24" Monitor
Boma is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Video Editing Build

I don't have time to put together a rig but for what your needs seem to be, I don't think you need to waste your money on hardware RAID. The software raid on your mobo will do just fine if you want RAID.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Guttzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 372
Default Re: Video Editing Build

That case looks like a TJ10... Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE TJ10-B Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

It also has the "Hard Drive Caddy" which mounts the HDDs vertically just like the TJ10...

It looks like they removed the Silverstone sticker and put a Cerise one on..... I could be completely wrong too lol...
Guttzu is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 196
Default Re: Video Editing Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinscher View Post
I don't have time to put together a rig but for what your needs seem to be, I don't think you need to waste your money on hardware RAID. The software raid on your mobo will do just fine if you want RAID.
My boss noticed some skipping during the rip. Would software raid be enough to solve the problem? If so that would be great. If it isn't the HDD's what could it be that is causing this?

The pc we're using is:

P4 3.4
2GB DDR
Sata HDD
Gigabyte 945P-G mobo
6600 AGP video card
Generic PSU
Corel Visual Studio
__________________
Gateway
Quad Q9300
DDR2 6GB
ATI 4850 512MB
Acer 24" Monitor
Boma is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Video Editing Build

It's not the HDD that's causing skipping. Most likely it's the CPU. I'd say that's a nice setup, but not $2500 nice.

I'll update this post with some stuff you'll wanna look at for a good rig.

CPU: Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops ($165)

Mobo: Newegg.com - ASUS P5QL PRO LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards ($87)

HDD: Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives ($80 x2 = $160)

CPU: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GV-N95TD3-512I GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards ($55)

RAM: Newegg.com - OCZ 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory ($48 x2 = $96)

PSU: Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies ($90)

$673 is the total for that. That's without a case, monitor and OS. You should stay be able to stay under $1000 for all of it.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 03:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Video Editing Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
It's not the HDD that's causing skipping. Most likely it's the CPU. I'd say that's a nice setup, but not $2500 nice.

I'll update this post with some stuff you'll wanna look at for a good rig.

CPU: Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops ($165)

Mobo: Newegg.com - ASUS P5QL PRO LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards ($87)

HDD: Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives ($80 x2 = $160)

CPU: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GV-N95TD3-512I GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards ($55)

RAM: Newegg.com - OCZ 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory ($48 x2 = $96)

PSU: Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies ($90)

$673 is the total for that. That's without a case, monitor and OS. You should stay be able to stay under $1000 for all of it.
For a video editing job you want cache and don't really need a video card. For $1k you could probably get a core i7 and a low end or midrange video card. That would serve him much better. The Q8200 simply has no place in video encoding.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 03:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Video Editing Build

Most editing programs that I've used take advantage of all 4 cores so cache isn't too much of a factor. I looked at boards and the cpu and a board is gonna be around $500. Also Corel is a low end video editing program that doesn't require a whole lot in the way of anything to run, so in the interest of saving money, the q8200 is a nice little cpu.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 04:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 196
Default Re: Video Editing Build

Ok. So we'll focus on the CPU instead. =0) Thanks for the tips!
__________________
Gateway
Quad Q9300
DDR2 6GB
ATI 4850 512MB
Acer 24" Monitor
Boma is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 04:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Video Editing Build

if your going 775 why not spend a little more and get the Q9550 with 12mb of cache
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 04:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Video Editing Build

I don't think it's worth it to spend another $120 or so on Corel.. The system requirements are extremely low, and the only thing a faster cache processor will do is help the encoding go faster, and with the q8200 it will be going pretty fast already.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building my first computer - Video Editing thewisesage System Upgrades 6 08-22-2008 03:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.