Video Delivery System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2007, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to jj1226
Default Video Delivery System

Hey Guys.

I'm new here, but I really need some help. I've done tons of research and more and more I get confused than the answers I really need.

My company is designing its first retail space, part of which will be the delivery of a looping 8-10 minute piece of video to 3 different screens within the retail environment. I'd like to stay with Mac, for the simple reason that I've used it for my video editing for the last 5 years, and this system will simply be tailored for graphical delivery.

I have gotten to the idea that I'd like to have a central system, with 5 DVI outputs to 23" LCD screens. I need to be able to deliver 4 concurrent streams of DVD-quality, full screen video from one computer. I also need seperate audio streams for each to each LCD.

If I can't do this from one box, I'd like to keep the number of computers to a minimum. Or could I set up a video server in the back of the house and run all video from there?

I'd like to keep this entire system on a budget of $10k, not including my LCD screens.

Thanks in advance guys!!

jj1226 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Video Delivery System

Is it possible to use any sort of dvi splitter, with just a single dvi output and split it to the other displays?

Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Video Delivery System

1x4 DVI Splitter

pricey but its under 10k

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to jj1226
Default Re: Video Delivery System

Ok, maybe I didn't make it clear.

I need to run 4 seperate videos to 4 screens. Is it possible to do this from one computer, or not?
jj1226 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 12:41 AM
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 03:26 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 12:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 08:58 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.