Video Card Question + CPU temp. update - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2009, 03:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

The HD 4870 blows away the others.

And wattage doesn't matter much.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 07:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

well it SORTA does. I mean, if you had a 1w psu with 1000A on 100 12v rails it still wouldn't work
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
Basically it all started with the 4850, it was a great budget card, the they released the 4830 which is a lower clocked version of the 4850. Then AMD decided to fill the void between the two cards (not too much difference) with a 4770 which would run at 45nm (first card with this) and it would be great value and overclock really well. Unfortunately as far as i know those cards had some problems and they don't make them anymore. The 4670 is a great budget card but if you want some more horsepower upgrade to a 4870 512mb edition they are pretty cheap these days. about 130 i think. All of those cards are better than the 9600gt.
the HD 4770 is 40nm not 45

and the 4670 is slightly slower than the 9600GT and 9600GSO/8800GS the 4830 and 9800GT basically perform the same and the 4770 is closer to the 4850 in perforamnce.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
well it SORTA does. I mean, if you had a 1w psu with 1000A on 100 12v rails it still wouldn't work
Forgetting the word much changes the whole meaning of a sentence doesn't it?

haha
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

lol, fair enough. I'd still disagree though, it matters just as much as the amperage. Without either you're stuffed.

I guess what everyone on tech forums means when they say the wattage doesn't matter much is that you shouldn't be using JUST the wattage rating on the psu to judge whether it'll run your system. nehuz, just needed to split hairs over that one

V very true dude, which is why I say it's a combination of both the W's and the A's that makes the true powah flow
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

You got a point though, but in some cases Wattage can mean B.S. like in crappy Raidmax PSU's where all the amperage is on the 5v Rail, and its really not as high of a wattage as they claim.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 02:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

what kinda games would be playable on my current hd 4670?

should i be very concerned about the temps on the 4830 if i game on stocks only?
__________________
Coming soon...:happy:
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 09:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
the HD 4770 is 40nm not 45

and the 4670 is slightly slower than the 9600GT and 9600GSO/8800GS the 4830 and 9800GT basically perform the same and the 4770 is closer to the 4850 in perforamnce.
Ahh good pickup, not sure why i said 45nm xD. But isn't that basically what i just said the 4770 is close to the 4850 but better then the 4830. Also i didnt talk about the 4670 becuase he said he was confused about the 4830/50 and 4770.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card question Gee Wally Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-25-2009 04:46 AM
Trouble with older Sony using new video card CeeJay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-10-2008 03:13 PM
Video card & Mobo question.. monagi New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-25-2008 10:31 PM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
Question about my video card.. Howlz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-28-2007 05:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.