Video Card Question + CPU temp. update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2009, 03:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

Guys.. just got into the BIOS and the system temp. reported was 40 degrees whereas the cpu core temps. were at 29 or 28 degrees. is that okay?

Also.. I am using the sapphire 4670 videocard. the pictures are crisp but when i play a dvd i dont see much difference. is this normal?

native resolution of the screen is 1600 x 900
__________________

blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 03:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

The image quality won't be better than it was before, you'll just be able to load more intensive content at a higher res.

40 degrees, is that idle or load? For a load temp that's fine, but out of curiosity what cpu do you have?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 03:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
The image quality won't be better than it was before, you'll just be able to load more intensive content at a higher res.

40 degrees, is that idle or load? For a load temp that's fine, but out of curiosity what cpu do you have?
the athlon x2 250 3.0 ghz
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue-lynx View Post
the athlon x2 250 3.0 ghz
Why let it sit at 3.00ghz?

Up the bus speed to 250 and bump the Vcore to 1.45 then your cooking with gas

CPU-Z Validator 3.1
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue-lynx View Post
Guys.. just got into the BIOS and the system temp. reported was 40 degrees whereas the cpu core temps. were at 29 or 28 degrees. is that okay?

Also.. I am using the sapphire 4670 videocard. the pictures are crisp but when i play a dvd i dont see much difference. is this normal?

native resolution of the screen is 1600 x 900
Idle or load?

Temps of the GPU seem fine along with the BIOS CPU temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Why let it sit at 3.00ghz?

Up the bus speed to 250 and bump the Vcore to 1.45 then your cooking with gas

CPU-Z Validator 3.1
He's still new to this man, I don't think he's ready to overclock just yet.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

The psu I have is Corsair 450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS


The videocard I currently have is Sapphire HD 4670 512 MB 128-Bits


Can this psu support a 4830 with a cpu running on stock?
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

You should be able to run the 4830 with the 450VX
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 05:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

super confused between 4830, 4770 and 9600 gt
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 06:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

Basically it all started with the 4850, it was a great budget card, the they released the 4830 which is a lower clocked version of the 4850. Then AMD decided to fill the void between the two cards (not too much difference) with a 4770 which would run at 45nm (first card with this) and it would be great value and overclock really well. Unfortunately as far as i know those cards had some problems and they don't make them anymore. The 4670 is a great budget card but if you want some more horsepower upgrade to a 4870 512mb edition they are pretty cheap these days. about 130 i think. All of those cards are better than the 9600gt.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 12:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Video Card Question + CPU temp. update

which of the 3 run cooler and gives performance?

remember i have a 450w psu
__________________

__________________
Coming soon...:happy:
blue-lynx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card question Gee Wally Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-25-2009 04:46 AM
Trouble with older Sony using new video card CeeJay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-10-2008 03:13 PM
Video card & Mobo question.. monagi New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-25-2008 10:31 PM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
Question about my video card.. Howlz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-28-2007 05:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.