Video Card Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2008, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default Video Card Question...

I am thinking about lashing out an buying another 8800gts g92 and putting them in sli-mode, but my question is, will I notice a difference in games, or should I just stick with 1 video card?

Right now with Crysis, I can't even play on all high settings with AAx8 because everything starts to slow down and skip...right now I am at the max resolution with all high settings and AAx2.

I would like to be able to play on all max settings...is there a way for me to do this???
__________________

KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: Video Card Question...

another GTS will get you there, it probably won't be ultra smooth, but it''ll be better.
__________________

Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Video Card Question...

eh... depends on how much you have to spend... i mean, honestly, you really wont notice THAT much of a difference... if you have a ton of spare money tho, go for it... otherwise, id just overclock your one card... the GTS 512 is pretty solid by itself, especially OC'd...
but no, SLI'ing two GTS's will not get you to MAX settings on Crysis... especially not with good FPS...

heres some more info on the topic tho:

EVGA | EVGA SLI

also, whats your CPU clock? you might consider overclocking to squeeze a little more performance out of your rig, if you arent already... cheaper than than that second card also...
hope this helps - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default Re: Video Card Question...

Well I am at 2.9ghz right now...I am attempting to get to 3ghz tonight...I want to get some Crysis in tonight though, lol...
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Video Card Question...

What size monitor. Unless you have a 24" or larger, you wont notice much difference. Also, nothing can run crysis at that much AA because Crytek cant code for crap.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cliche video card question ohGrFreak System Upgrades 18 02-09-2008 09:09 PM
question about video card pkxo New Systems | Building and Buying 0 01-23-2008 08:32 PM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
video card overclocking, I have a question AMD6415 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-15-2007 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.