Video Card Clock Speeds Question.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2007, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

How come on the other GeForce 8800 GTS it says.......

Core - 500MHz
Shader - 1200MHz
Memory - 1600 MHz

on nTune it says my Core is at 512MHz and Memory is at 792MHz.

Is the Memory actually like half? So if mine is 792MHz its actually 792MHz x 2 = (1584)?

Hm..... I wonder if the BFG Card is better than EVGA card.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

Yeah, because of Graphics Double Data Rate. My VGA is suppose to be at 630/1540 but because of GDDR it only shows half of it. The other half works when your VGA is effective.

EVGA's are great pinoy.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

That brings me on to another question...

How can you do dual monitor? Can you do two 22" monitors using one graphics card? Wonder if its worth it hehe.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

Yes, with your 8800GTS, you can. Is your monitor running DVI or D-sub?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

i think ur still mis understanding it...its always "effective", the effective speed of PC6400 in dual channel is 800mhz...each stick runs at 400mhz...video ram works in the same way...cards are rated at their effective memory clock..so to op, ur correct
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
i think ur still mis understanding it...its always "effective", the effective speed of PC6400 in dual channel is 800mhz...each stick runs at 400mhz...video ram works in the same way...cards are rated at their effective memory clock..so to op, ur correct
So is this why on CPU-Z on the Memory Tab it says..........




Is this right stats for my G-Skill RAM?

And what is that FSBRAM? = 2:3?

Since my FSB right now is 266

So 266/2 = 133 and 133 x 3 = 400MHz?

So........... when I had it at 300FSB my RAM was at 450MHz?

So at 333 MHz my RAM would be at 500MHz? Then why did it not work. Whats the maximum Frequency for my RAM? It cant go higher than 450MHz?
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
i think ur still mis understanding it...its always "effective", the effective speed of PC6400 in dual channel is 800mhz...each stick runs at 400mhz...video ram works in the same way...cards are rated at their effective memory clock..so to op, ur correct
Now I think I know what you're saying. Because of Dual Channels both sticks run at 800MHz together, and 1 stick run at 400MHz.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 02:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

correct..and pinoy..u have teh HZ's right? they can probably take up to ddr2-1066 with those timings...i just set mine at 1000 cuz i like the even numbers...and tahts my exact setup...333FSB, 2:3 ratio, and 500mhz ram...the magic number is 400, 1:1 ratio, and 400mhz ram...but i didn't like the overclock on my processor
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 03:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

Well my system was stable when i OC'ed the cpu to 333 fsb but when i went to 366 from 333 i got the blue screen......... why would that be?

something with memory?

i didnt touch the memory hehe, just the cpu and i think it was automatically clocked up.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 03:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Video Card Clock Speeds Question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Now I think I know what you're saying. Because of Dual Channels both sticks run at 800MHz together, and 1 stick run at 400MHz.
no, dual channel is different from double data rate.
double data rate applies whether or not you have dual channel working.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Question about OCing a Video Card mgcook New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-11-2007 02:29 AM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
Question about my video card.. Howlz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-28-2007 05:07 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.