Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 04:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default Video Card

What Video Card should I get, considering the following notes...

- I am not a big gamer.
- I want the possibility of displaying on 2 lcd monitors simultaneously.
- I want the possibility of using the dell 24" widescreen monitor.
- I want to be able to watch DVDs/TV/HDTV
- I want no/very little ghosting
- I want to be able to use the Digital Input on LCD Monitors

(I apologize about my ignorance about this subject, haven't had much time to research.)

- Thanks!
__________________

bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 04:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

depends, do you have AGP or PCI-E? and how much money can you spend?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 04:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

yeah, i don't think any/many AGP cards support HDTV and even on PCI-e i think only the X1800 and 7800 series have HDTV atm.

Any card with 2 monitor jacks could use 2 LCD.. most video cards come with a D-Sub to DVI converter. If you don't do that much i would suggest the 6600GT or the 9800Pro.

I dont know about HDTV, you might have to get a TV tuner card if your now willing to get the X1800 or 7800 series.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 07:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default Re: Video Card

Quote:
Originally posted by bigredx24x
- I want the possibility of using the dell 24" widescreen monitor.
there are lists of video cards at dell's website for accomodating widescreen resolutions for that monitor.


Quote:
Originally posted by bigredx24x
- I want to be able to watch DVDs/TV/HDTV.
r u talkin about output to an HDTV?
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Ok, let's forget HDTV, thats really something I probably don't need right now. If I get it in the future, I'll just get tv tuner card.

What is the difference between AGP and PCI-E?
bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

the interface type, depending on the computer brand and when it was made, and what crd you have now or if you hav onboard graphics we can determine if tis agp or pci e. im assuming you have a premade computer, what brand and model do you have?
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

PCI-E is the newer type of interface that will soon replace AGP
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by æArchOAngelæ
the interface type, depending on the computer brand and when it was made, and what crd you have now or if you hav onboard graphics we can determine if tis agp or pci e. im assuming you have a premade computer, what brand and model do you have?
Right now I have an Inspiron laptop, so I am currently trying to assemble an entirely new system.

I was thinking of getting a dual-chip opteron system (chipset940). I was thinking about the Tyan Thunder k8WE...

"Answering the call for more power to meet the demands of customer applications, the Thunder K8WE (S2895) delivers new heights of performance never before available in the workstation market. Based on the NVIDIA nForce™ Professional 2200 and 2050 core-logic solutions, the Thunder K8WE (S2895) also features support for dual AMD Opteron™ 200 series processors with 32-bit and 64-bit power, Dual PCI Express x16 slots with FULL SPEED x16 lanes on each slot to support NVIDIA SLI™ technology at unprecedented speeds. Other features such as USB 2.0, FireWire, Serial ATA-II with NVRAID™, audio, and NVIDIA nTune™ support, the Thunder K8WE (S2895) provides speed and capabilities for next generation worksation systems."
bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 06:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

chipset 940? i think ud be much more better off going for a Socket 939 opteron.
adam02 is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 06:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adam02
chipset 940? i think ud be much more better off going for a Socket 939 opteron.
are there mobo's with the 939 chipset that have a dual processor capability?
__________________

bigredx24x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.