video card for 56' tv - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2006, 03:21 PM   #21 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

No it does not, I have compared two identcal monitors one with VGA one wiht DVI and there is no discernable picture quality loss or gain with either one.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 03:24 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

There is if the monitor is made for DVI.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 03:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Umm, the monitor I am using in VGA is made for DVI and there is no difference.............. Yes I tried in both VGA and DVI

And ALL LCDs are made for DVI because their picture is digital instead of analog like CRTs
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 05:22 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
Umm, the monitor I am using in VGA is made for DVI and there is no difference.............. Yes I tried in both VGA and DVI

And ALL LCDs are made for DVI because their picture is digital instead of analog like CRTs
well there is probably no difference because of the resolution, on a HDTV I'm sure it would make a difference.

And to The General, analog is not bad, it's just not as good as Digital.

And not all LCDs are made for DVI. I'm using a LCD monitor right now that only accepts a VGA input.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 05:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Dude, mine only accepts a VGA as well, I ment that they are optimized to use a DVI connection due to the fact that the screen it displays is in digital format, not analog.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 05:36 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

gotcha, my bad
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 05:47 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Okay, for future referance, when I say "=/=" that means "does not equal" and when I say "=" it means "equals."

I know analog can be just as good as digital, but in some cases (as stated above in my previous posts) analog is better.

Let me settle this DVI/VGA argument. I had an LCD that has a DVI input AND a VGA input. I plugged them both in and set it to clone mode, switched back and forth between the two and saw no difference. I consider myself to have a keen eye for quality.

They are the same quality.

Also, people seem to think that HDTV is super hi-res, but no. 1080p (the highest there is) is only 1940x1080. My monitor (with VGA) goes to 2048x1536 and works great.
The General is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 07:02 PM   #28 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Hey guys, the ONLY reason a DVI hookup would be better is if the Analog signal was degraded, this can happen due to attenuation, interference on a non-shielded cable, or a just ****poor video card connection.

None of which happens these days considering the fact every VGA cable is shielded against interference, and the distance is no where near enough to cause attenuation (i think minimum is like 70-100 feet) and that the video cards have nice hookups these days.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 07:05 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Okay, for future referance, when I say "=/=" that means "does not equal" and when I say "=" it means "equals."

I know analog can be just as good as digital, but in some cases (as stated above in my previous posts) analog is better.

Let me settle this DVI/VGA argument. I had an LCD that has a DVI input AND a VGA input. I plugged them both in and set it to clone mode, switched back and forth between the two and saw no difference. I consider myself to have a keen eye for quality.

They are the same quality.

Also, people seem to think that HDTV is super hi-res, but no. 1080p (the highest there is) is only 1940x1080. My monitor (with VGA) goes to 2048x1536 and works great.
yeah i know that =/= is "does not equal" that's why I said "analog is not bad"....

but whatever, I'm just saying that if DVI is available he should go with it.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 07:13 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah, it's just that when I say something and someone says my name followed by the same thing I said, it seems that they misread me. No problem.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.