video card for 56' tv - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2006, 10:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

i think he means using the VGA out on his video card like using a monitor. Do what aliasaid said and use the Component out.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 09:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

If it's an HDTV, then chances are it has a DVI input, and will work exactly like a regular computer monitor.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I think he means his tv has a vga connection like a computer monitor. Some HDTV have that. So wouldn't he just wanna use that.
dario03 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah, if his TV has a VGA or a DVI connetion, use either of the two, but don't use composite or s-vidia, or componant as they suck.
The General is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 11:06 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

well VGA would suck too because it's an analog signal, so go with DVI for the best picture.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Uh, VGA and DVI don't look any different.

And analog =/= bad.

Vinyl records still sound the best, over any HD-SUPER-HI-DEF-DIGITAL-THX sound system any day of the weak.

VGA will look exactly the same as DVI, but if DVI is an option, use it.
The General is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I am assuming that either his video card does not have DVI out, or the TV doesn't have a DVI input. With that assumption, the VGA connection is is best option.

Now, that video card is more than capable in running your TV's resolution. All you need to do is find the proper resolution on your video card settings.

BTW, if you are going to buy a new card, AND your TV has a DVI input, make sure you get a card with DVI out and use that.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

if the resolution for the card is not available in the settings page, click advanced, go to adapter, then click list all modes...**** even my card has 1280 * 1024 (32 bit) 60hz and 1280 * 960 (32bit) 60hz(this is on a 2005 3dfuzion geforce mx4000) then on my other card(2000 3dfx voodoo3) i get all the way up to 1600 * 1200(32bit)60 hz, and widescreen, 1600 * 1024(32bit) 60hz...who wold thing an older card can kick a newer cards *** in screen resolutions? o and i got the 3dfx voodoo3 for free from my school!!! dumbasses....
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

****, and I thought my 19" LCD was big...
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 02:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Uh, VGA and DVI don't look any different.

And analog =/= bad.

Vinyl records still sound the best, over any HD-SUPER-HI-DEF-DIGITAL-THX sound system any day of the weak.

VGA will look exactly the same as DVI, but if DVI is an option, use it.
DVI makes the picture clearer.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.