Video Car Fan Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default Video Car Fan Question

My new Radeon 9550 didn't come with a fan and it's been overheating which has decreased my performance drastically. I know its the card overheating because i have a regular fan from my house blowing at the back of the case and then performance goes right back up. So my question is: can i buy any fan for the card and install it?
__________________

Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 11:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Yes.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 12:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default

any suggestions on which 1?
Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 01:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Anything will be good. Just look for something that moves a lot of air.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 04:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

What kind of case do you have... you might have to install another fan is you have the slot, but then you may not have one... I wouldn't suggest a slot fan... they really don't do much other than move hot air (and not that much of it either) over the card... check out your case first... you might have open slots to add. Give us a model and we can check it out...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 10:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default

I have an old dell dimension 8200 case. I think i need to replace the existing fan as well tho because my mobo always gives a "previous fan failure" error whenever i bood up.

Also, what do fan slots look like? That way, i know what i'm looking for.
Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 10:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835192006

Buy it....install it.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

^^ that one should do just fine
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default

next question...how do i install this?
Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 10:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

undo the stock clips, and clip this one in the holes which you took the old clips out of. If you still cant figure it out, read the manual
__________________

__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.