vid card help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2007, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10
Default vid card help

ok well i want something that can run Counter Strike Source on low-medium settings

the problem is that i can only buy a video card that is PCI slot (dumb dell)

well here are the major specs of my computer:

Dell Dimension 3000
1 gb Ram
2.6 ghz celeron d

another thing i could consider is just getting another motherboard and processer then just use the parts from this computer to build another one

i already have THIS!~!~! vid card so all i would really need is a new mother board and processor

i would prefer the cheaper way because right now im kinda broke

thanks in advanced for all of your help
__________________

trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131035

you will be able to use your old ram with this too
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

That is a pretty powerful card and will deffinatly max out CS:S. You could get a cheap C2D board that supports a Celeron but the thing is, those boards all support DDR2 memory now and I'm sure you have DDr1 memory probably with a dell. So I can find one with 1 PCI-E slot for the card and 4x184 pins for about 75 bucks...or one with only 2 ram slots for 65 bucks.


EDIT: Yea you could get a an AMD since they are much better than a dumb celly.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10
Default

the only problem with useing my current processor is that i can not get the heat sink off of it and i dont want to risk ruining the whole thing
trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

You have to make sure it's not hooked in to thje back of the board by a certain clip, pull out the whole mobo.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
You have to make sure it's not hooked in to thje back of the board by a certain clip, pull out the whole mobo.
the heat sink covers up a screw that i can not get to with out removing it
trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10
Default

how about:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131069
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103023

and i can get a combo deal so that it only costs $95
trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Either one of those deals are fine
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10
Default

what about the CPU that i posted

is it a decent CPU?
trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

The Athlons were an excellent CPU line and still are pretty much one of the best single core CPU. It is much more powerful than your Celly.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.