Very Hot Conroe... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 08:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

What do you mean it seams to be reading 82c in the bios? Is it or is it not? If it is shut that thing down don't do anything until you check the HSF,,, ffs ,,, You are going to toast it.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 12:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

Yes that is VERY hot, all you need to do with AS5 or any thermal compound is just to squirt half a pea size blob in the middle of the processor, then put the heatsink on the top. There is something not right, or are these Conroes putting out more heat than we think and its another proscott, as I have heard numerous reports of Conroes becoming VERY hot.

Maybe ctrl+F1 in the BIOS should enable mroe features?

Ruan
__________________

RGELLIS is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 12:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Cook some eggs on that processor!
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 08:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Nihsnek
Default

Use a different proggy to see the real temperature...SpeedFan sux.
__________________
AMD 64 4000+ - OC\'d to 2.9GHz
nVidia GeForce 7900GTX
2GB Corsair XMS
SeaGate 320GB SATA2 7200RPM x2
Creative X-FI Xtreme Sound Card
GigaByte Liquid Cooling
Antec 550W PSU
GigaByte 3D Aurora Case
Nihsnek is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to zdude255
Default

Ok, well I replaced the aftermarket heatsink and used intel's stock cooler. It stays at 47 while idle and goes to the low 50's at full load.

Lesson Learned: Stock cooling ain't always so bad....

Anyone want a partially used heatsink lol?
zdude255 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

stock cooling can be the best, if not fancy and purdy
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

it is at 47 idle? Yeesh, my 3800+ X2 runs at 31 idle and max at 40 full load. ****, thats one hot processor.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 10:18 AM   #18 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
it is at 47 idle? Yeesh, my 3800+ X2 runs at 31 idle and max at 40 full load. ****, thats one hot processor.
Mine maxes out at 43C and its overclocked 500mhz. I will never buy intel again!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 12:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Never had much of a need for intel *shrug*
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 01:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Since there seems to be some discrepencies on how to apply thermal paste, I'll clear that up. All you need is a dab the size of a grain of rice. DO NOT SMEAR IT.

It's easy, squeeze out enough to make a grain of rice. Then put the HS on top, being careful not to slide it around.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.