Very excited about my first gaming rig build. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2008, 05:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/PS1 View Post
Then again i'm torn from spending the extra 120 bucks. when mine might be enough. I guess my question is if my power needs exceeds what my PSU can do what can happen? Can my parts fry from not having enough juice?

From what i've seen most Decent PSU's have 18A on the rails. What's different is how many rails it has. My current one has 2 while your corsair has 3 and the ocz i linked has 4.

If it hasnt got enough power, it could do a variety of different things. For example it could just blow up and leave your other components unharmed, it could take the other ones with it, it could just not boot up at all.

But if its got 2 18A rails then it should be ok.

As for your comments about the rails, the best design is just one large rail (my PSU has one rail with 49A on it)
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 05:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
If it hasnt got enough power, it could do a variety of different things. For example it could just blow up and leave your other components unharmed, it could take the other ones with it, it could just not boot up at all.

But if its got 2 18A rails then it should be ok.

As for your comments about the rails, the best design is just one large rail (my PSU has one rail with 49A on it)
I'm not doubting you or anything lol but could you explain why a single rail is better than multiple ones?
__________________

IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 05:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.pcpower.com/technology/myths

ARE MULTIPLE 12-VOLT RAILS BETTER THAN A SINGLE 12-VOLT RAIL?

With all the hype about multiple 12-volt rails (ads claim that two rails is better than one, five is better than four, etc.), you'd think it was a better design. Unfortunately, it's not!

Here are the facts: A large, single 12-volt rail (without a 240VA limit) can transfer 100% of the 12-volt output from the PSU to the computer, while a multi-rail 12-volt design has distribution losses of up to 30% of the power supply's rating. Those losses occur because power literally gets “trapped" on under-utilized rails. For example, if the 12-volt rail that powers the CPU is rated for 17 amps and the CPU only uses 7A, the remaining 10A is unusable, since it is isolated from the rest of the system.

Since the maximum current from any one 12-volt rail of a multiple-rail PSU is limited to 20 amps (240VA / 12 volts = 20 amps), PCs with high-performance components that draw over 20 amps from the same rail are subject to over-current shutdowns. With power requirements for multiple processors and graphics cards continuing to grow, the multiple-rail design, with its 240VA limit per rail, is basically obsolete.

PC Power and Cooling is once again leading the industry. All of our power supplies now feature a large, single 12-volt rail. The design is favored by major processor and graphics companies, complies with EPS12V specs (the 240VA limit is not a requirement) and is approved by all major safety agencies such as UL and TUV.3

This is from the pc power and cooling official site ^
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 05:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
This is from the pc power and cooling official site ^
**** that's one of the most helpful things i've ever been linked on any forum. Thanks much

You've got me convienced that the silencer 610 should fit my needs pretty well. Unless someone can argue that multiple smaller rails is better :P

So if i did go with Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R Socket 775 Intel P35 + ICH9R Dual-Channel DDR2 1066/800/667/533Mhz GigaLAN 8-Channel Audio Support 1333Mhz FSB.

What kind of hard drives can you recommend. Is IDE better or is SATA?
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 09:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

SATA

Sata = smaller cables better cable management
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 10:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

i see. i went too Wikipedia and looked it up. IDE cables are much bigger hehe.
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

What's the difference between these two MB'S:

Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R Socket 775 Intel P35 + ICH9R Dual-Channel DDR2 1066/800/667/533Mhz GigaLAN 8-Channel Audio Support 1333Mhz FSB.

Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Socket 775 Intel P35 + ICH9 Dual-Channel DDR2 1066/800/667/533Mhz GigaLAN 8-Channel Audio Support 1333Mhz FSB.

First one is about 50 dollars more. The only difference i can see is the first one is Japenese construction.
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 03:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

One thing i've been learning is that more questions have an answer, they just require a little digging.

The more expensive one has raid functions which i don't think i really need.

So here is my revised build so far:

MB: Gigabyte ga-p35-DS3R
Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Socket 775 Intel P35 + ICH9 Dual-Channel DDR2 1066/800/667/533Mhz GigaLAN 8-Channel Audio Support 1333Mhz FSB.

RAM: Crucial Ballistix Tracer x2 1GB
Canada Computers - Memory > Desktop Memory > DDR2 1066 PC2-8500+ : Crucial Ballistix Tracer (BL2KIT12864AL1065) DDR2 1066Mhz PC2 8500 2GB Kit (1GB x 2) 240-pin (with LEDs).

PSU:PC power and cooling 610W Silencer
Canada Computers - Power Supplies/Management > Desktop Power Supplies : PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W EPS12V ATX V2.2 24PIN SLI Ready Active PFC 80MM Fan Power Supply.

CASE: Antec 900 Ultimate gaming case mid tower Steel design (64.99 after rebate for an antec case, Couldn't pass this up)
Canada Computers - Cases > Mid Towers : Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Ultimate Gamer Case.

CPU COOLER: Big typhoon thermaltake with 120MM fan
Thermaltake Big Typhoon 4 in 1 Heatpipe 120mm Fan CPU Cooler CL-P0114 in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

CPU: q6600 quad core
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor HH80562PH0568M - 2.40GHz, 8MB Cache, 1066MHz FSB, Kentsfield, Quad-Core, OEM, Socket 775, Processor in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

GPU: 8800GT EVGA with free quake wars Super overclocked
EVGA GeForce 8800 GT Superclocked Video Card - FREE Enemy Territory: Quake Wars PC Game, 512MB GDDR3, PCI Express 2.0, SLI Ready, Dual DVI, HDTV, Video Card 512-P3-N802-A1 in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

HD: Running a bit pricy right now so i'll just salvage my 250GB sata from my old rig

All other parts are the same as the original.

I'd appreciate any comments on compatibility issues i might have.

I didn't see my ram on the qualified vendor list on my MB. Should i be worried about that?

Will the Big typhoon fit in my case?

Any other comments welcome :P

Total is 1131.12$ Canadian. Shipping paid for and taxed
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

I forgot the price of the MB so tack on an extra 100 for the board.
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Very excited about my first gaming rig build.

My only comment is that even though i persuaded you to get that PSU, wire management with it in that case is hard. The compntnts get enough air, but if you want a perfect looking wire job then its not the right PSU.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a Good $800+ Gaming Build Poemaster New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-23-2007 10:37 PM
looking to build a gaming computer!newb.. escallui System Upgrades 1 11-22-2007 01:28 AM
1200$ gaming rig Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 09-29-2007 01:29 PM
New LCD for Gaming rig WWS New Systems | Building and Buying 11 09-21-2007 06:23 AM
Awesome X2 Overclockers Budget Gaming Build Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-07-2007 01:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.