Verify sufficient PSU/Confirm final upgrade parts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2006, 10:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default Verify sufficient PSU/Confirm final upgrade parts

I am upgrading my current computer with the following parts:

BFG Geforce 7900GT 256MB
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice

I currently have a Thermaltake 420W PSU which has served my well for over a year on my current system. I want to be sure that I do not get my new equipment in and find out I do not have enough power.

I don't know much about power supplies, but is there a program that I can use to find out how much power I am using with my current hardware? Also, does moderate OCing of the processor and/or videocard require much extra wattage?

I am ordering all of these parts this week, so any final comments are appreciated on my choice of upgrades, my budget is ~$600. Thanks all!

transcend11 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
aliasaid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400

get a better powersupply

"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13

Brand or wattage?
transcend11 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

supposedly DFI will not give you warranty coverage if you use less than a 480w psu, personally i think its a load of crap but i wouldn't go against it. i reccomend an Antec TruePower 2.0 or an OCZ Powerstream
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

i assume you mean you got this one
18A on the +12v is insufficient for the parts you mentioned , also its not atx 2.0 and you gotta have an atx 2.0/2.01 psu for that mobo, so you gotta get a new psu , i recommend these
antec truepower 2 430w
antec truepower 2 480w

better not get a cheapo psu , read here why
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Spartan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814

go with the antec truepower II 550W PSU and if really have the money, get an OCZ powerstream 520W

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.