Verdict on new rig - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 11:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

I would love opinions etc. this is the new system from nin Tek:

nin Tek PC.

CAS-ANT-LANBOY-350W
Antec Super LANBOY Aluminum Case & Smart Blue - 350W PSU

$189.00

CPU-AMD-A64X2-4200M-BOX
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Dual Core Processor Socket 939-Retail 2.2Ghz Manchester Core

$549.00

HD-SEA-ST3200827AS
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 200GB 7200rpm SATA II Hard Drive - 11ms, 8MB Cache,
NCQ ST3200827AS

$137.00

MB-DFI-LANPUT-NF4-UD
DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D S939 nForce4 PCI-Ex16 Karajan SATA RAID Dual G-LAN, IEEE 1394


$195.00


OPT-LG-GDR-8164BB
LG GDR-8164BB 16x DVD-ROM Drive - Beige OEM

$35.00

RAM-KIN-KVR400X64C3AK2-1G
Kingston DDR PC3200 400MHz ValueRam 1GB Kit (2x512MB) - DDR400, CL3, KVR400X64C3AK2/1G

$139.00

VGA-ALB-7600GT
Albatron 560Mhz 7600GT 256MB DDR3 PCI-Express Graphics Card;
Dual DVI & TV-Out NVIDIA GeForce

$309.00



Sub Total : $1,553.00
Discount Code : $0.00
GST Paid (10%) : $141.18
Total : $1,553.00
__________________

Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i made some suggestions in your PM if you haven't checked. like i said if you would be interested in learning how to overclock the 3800+ or opteron 165 are better choices. i and many other forum members are more than willing to help. the 4200+ is not worth the extra ~$100 as you could probably hit 4600+ or even 4800+ speeds on stock cooling if you are lucky. that is if you choose to overclock
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

I dont think i will oveclock because i am to much of a n00b. I can also overclock the 4200+ when i become more experienced, yes?
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes you could overclock the 4200 its just the 3800 and opteron 165 would be better value.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

yeh well i can afford it so... i am also going to upgarde my case to the shark case with a 430W PSU. so i dont have to upgrade.
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Dont use the cases PSU's because generally there crap. Buy an antec truepower 2.0 550w.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ditto. you should buy a new power supply. i have probably exactly the same psu as will be coming in that case. it is reasonably nice but i wouldn't use it on my precious X2. its currently powering a K6-II pc because its the only spare ATX psu i had
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.