Variations of Quality in CPU Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2007, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default Variations of Quality in CPU Memory

I'd just like to know whether anyone has noticed any variation in quality between the different brands that make memory.

I'm a mid level gamer (battlefield etc), not too overly concerned with getting uber performance.

Atm i'm torn between...

Corsair Value Select
Corsair XMS
Geil
KingMax


Basicly, i'm just after memory that is good quality and doesnt have any errors within it. Value select is the cheapest, but it sounds like there might be a decrease in quality compared to the slightly more expensive XMS series. And Geil and KingMax i've never heard of.

Note: I live in Australia, so maybe some of you wont know these brads....but hopefully you will =)

Thanks!
__________________

evenflow is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Corsair would be the brand to go for, out of that list. Even their value select is of good quality.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 11:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

whats your budget and mb specs?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 01:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Here i can get 1Gb of Corsair Value Select for AUS$140 and 1Gb of Corsair XMS for AUS$210. (these are reasonable prices by the way)

I'd be willing to pay for the more expensive one, but i'm not after super performance, rather just a RAM that is not fraught with errors like the last generic RAM that i bought.


Motherboard specs....i dont really know what to tell ya but here it goes anyways:

Asus A7N8X-X
Running at 333Mhz
3x 184-pin DDR DIMM Sockets


I was planning on taking the dodgy memory out and putting in two sticks of a decent RAM into the 1 and 3 slots.

But again the thing thats troubling me is that the Corsair Value Select range is getting very close the the price of the generic brands.....so i dont really know what to do.
evenflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.