Valueram Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2006, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Valueram Question

The timings on my valueram right now seems to be just about the same as the XMS series, but I just can't overclock my CPU any higher. Just wanted to know how the more expensive ram sticks overclock better, and if I had heatsinks on my valueram would it make a difference?
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
mole1135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135
Default

not really, the more expensive ram is built for oc'ing
__________________

__________________


AIM- Mole1135 Yahoo mail- Mole1135@yahoo.com
mole1135 is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Just runa divider and you'll be set
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

the more expensive ram has better quality chips that are going to take an overclock much better.
Value ram will give you a mild overclock but no more, I dont think theres anything you can do to improve that bar replacing them.

As said, run a divider if you have the option.

p.s. I have heatspreaders on my value ram, it makes a difference but do not expect miracles. A pregnant yak by anyother name is still a pregnant yak.. or whatever
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Pregnant yak...lmao. Value ram isn't all that bad. I bought a stick of Corsair value ram, ran it at 2.75V, 240MHz, timmings were 2.5,4,4,7 or something not sure have to check but the cas was 2.5 and at a 1T command rate! If your ram isn't cutting it though you need to get some new stuff.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 07:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Very impressive, I haven't pushed mine past 210Mhz at that cas, i'll up the voltage and have another go when I get home from work.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default

215Mhz's my limit, guess I'll just get the XMS 2 gigs
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default

The divider's not gonna affect gaming speed negatively is it?
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.