Using old Hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2008, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Using old Hard drive

I have an old ide hard drive im going to use for my new build just till i get my new sata ones. Do i have to wipe it clean before i use it ? And if so how do i do it ?
__________________

jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

As long as you have a copy of your operating system installation cd, then your good. During the installation process it will probably give you the option to format (clean) your hard drive first before you install the OS.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

You are going to have to format (clean) the HDD because of the system board change.
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

Oh right so ill have to put it into another pc to do that is that right ?
jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

no you won't have to, what operating system are you using? If its windows xp, or even vista, when you boot form the cd in bios and load up the windows installation it will give you an option to delete your current partition with your old windows and reformat your hard drive.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

Im using windows xp pro. Ill have loads more question cause its my first build. Last parts due to br with me tomorrow so ill be starting it then. Building it shouln't be a problem i hope but when its built the fun will start. I presume i just load the motherboard software first and select boot from cd then load the operating software and graphics drivers or graphics drivers then os ??
jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

Good luck on your build man, but once you have all the hardware setup these are the steps, and you must to install OS before anything else.

1.Press the power button to turn the computer on
2.Enter bios setup, usually done by pressing (del) or sometimes (F2)
3. In bios setup look for "Boot order" or something similar to it. Then select your first boot device to your cd or dvd rom.
4.Save and quit, Usually done by pressing (F10)
5.When it restarts your xp installation cd will boot and you go through the steps and install your OS
6. Once your pc restarts and you see your windows desktop you're in the home stretch.
7.Then in windows install your motherboard drivers and software
8. Install all other driver software, i.e. Videocard, soundcard, USB devices, Internet card or adapter


That's pretty much the general guideline.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

Oh grand man thanks for that.

My build is :

Antec 900 case
Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
Q6600 G0 Stepping
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB 1066mhz
Corsair 620hx power supply
XFX 8800 GTS 640mb xxx 600mhz version have it a few months before the new GT and GTS came out so ill use it for now
Samsung dvd writer
80gb maxtor hard drive soon to be samsung spinpoint 500gb

What you think ?
jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 03:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

did you already order it or not?

It's a great build, but the video card is the older version of the 8800gts the new G92's are better, but it will still perform great.

EDIT: oh whoops lol didn't read the rest of it. Nevermind then, that was the only critique I had though.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: Using old Hard drive

Ah yeah i know would love the new gt 512 but ill have to wait a while. Should have the psu and ram tomorrow so good to go after that
__________________

jaybe1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Need help installing a hard drive! the_patriot2008 System Upgrades 0 12-26-2007 10:56 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.