URGENT - psu question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2006, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default URGENT - psu question

ok so i need a 450-5oow psu

my motherboard only suports 20 pins

do i

1. buy a 20pin psu
2. buy 24 pin psu and an adapter

are 20 pin psus that common?

thanks in advance

Tim
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

20 pin psu have been the standard for years, most current quality psu will have a 24 pin connection with four pins that detach.Just research the psu b4 u buy. I just bought a antec 500w for 80 bucks that has the 24 pin w/ a detachable four pin.
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

It depends on your motherboard. If the board doesn't require a -5v line, all of the 20+4pin PSUs will work but if it does, you'll need to find one with a -5v.

This one doesn't have a -5v but will work w/ 20 pin:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
turtile is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 08:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

get a 20 pin psu +4 or u can just break off the 4 extra pins it should be abe to break off as they do in most i know they did in mine cause the 4 pins went into the other side of the mobo
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.