Urgent as ****, memory question!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2006, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default Urgent as ****, memory question!!


I Wanna know because i'm getting a new rig, AM2 by chance... it'll be powerd by the DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2 motherboard.

What ram would you go for on this computer?

This: Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4

or this: mushkin eXtreme Performance [XP2-6400] 2GB (2 x 1GB) model s/n: 996523

?? I've actualy just orderd the mushkin but its still cancel-able..

Is there anyone here with experience with either one of those RAMs that can give me an opinion over'em..

this is kinda urgent X_X I have to decide in a couple of hours..

Also I won't be able to use RMA option if the ram will not function because of compatability issues [i've heard aLOT of those on the AM2 mobos] so can anyone please reassure me that the mushkin will work flawlessly? [taken that its not physically damaged]

Anyway, the DFI tech support told me they advise to buy this ram over the corsair as it is tested to work with my mobo... but.. this ram looks like value ram and not performence ram x_x can anyone enlighten me? Am I just being mistaken by the look???

Also if someone had a DOA of one of those models of ram please tell me..



Yoad is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
CECS Major
Chase's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase

Ey yoad! I know Corsair is a renowned brand because I have used it and it is great!! The mushkin is of course better because of timings but I don't know about reliablility! ((By the way yoad, the ASUS x1900xt is superb, greatly packaged, and runs everything tip top! Go ahead and order it, no doubt you will love it!))


Chase is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996

gotcha! Thanks abunch..

anyone else? my only two worries is that:

A. This ram has a high #age of DOA's or Compatability issues with AM2 boards

B. This is not performence ram... which is what i'm looking to get.. I don't want value ram! NO NO NO. [not saying it is a vlue ram, saying it looks like, and I might be wrong..]

Yoad is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738

Mushkin is some high quality RAM. Any type of DDR2 RAM is not value RAM. But yea overall the Mushkin is a better choice.
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.