Urgent!! I got 1 hour to choose!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 10:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

That would be crazy to get the 7800 gt if you're gonna get the g80. Just go with the 6800.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

6800gs!!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 181
Default

Will the 6800GS play medium-high settings?
__________________
AMD Opteron 170 @ 2.9 Ghz
DFI LanParty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
OCZ Gold XTC PC4000 (2x1024)
Nvidia 7900 GT
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Thermaltake Big Typhoon (Artic 5)
Gigabyte 3DAurora case
SilverStone Zues 650W PSU
Lynch Hung is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default

you could save even more money with a 6600, remember, this is temporary so you want to get the cheapest that will be good for a short time
juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default

I think the 6600 can play at mid-high but you have to overclock it. It temporary so i say go with it
juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

I'd say the 6800GS is the best call. It can play med-high and if you had to you could OC it. Since it'll only be till the end of the year at most you should be more than fine with it.
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 181
Default

How would a stock 6600GT handle games like Call Of Duty 2, Battlefield 2, F.E.A.R, Doom 3, and Quake 4?
__________________
AMD Opteron 170 @ 2.9 Ghz
DFI LanParty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
OCZ Gold XTC PC4000 (2x1024)
Nvidia 7900 GT
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Thermaltake Big Typhoon (Artic 5)
Gigabyte 3DAurora case
SilverStone Zues 650W PSU
Lynch Hung is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default

Pretty good, I think med-high with stock. At most, but you save an extra 100 and you can use it for g80
juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

go eVGA WHATEVER you buy and then use the step-up program to buy the G80 when it comes out. I have no idea how many times i've said this. GO eVGA!!! they'll take you old card and you just pay the difference! no gimmick. 100% trade in for price paid on invoice. Why would you bother with anything else...
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 181
Default

I'm in Australia so eVGA isn't available to me.
__________________

__________________
AMD Opteron 170 @ 2.9 Ghz
DFI LanParty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
OCZ Gold XTC PC4000 (2x1024)
Nvidia 7900 GT
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Thermaltake Big Typhoon (Artic 5)
Gigabyte 3DAurora case
SilverStone Zues 650W PSU
Lynch Hung is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.