Urgent help with PC! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2006, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default Urgent help with PC!

Hi all,

So my parts arrived Wednesday, and I quickly threw everything together. Literally did everything in about an hour. The specs are in my sig.

Problem I have though, is the fact that the CPU isn't stable at all, not even at stock settings.

The voltages and temperatures are looking good, never going above 40C while running Prime95, but the test fails after less than 10 minutes. I made sure I've connected all the power connectors, so I'm at a bit of a loss. I've tried playing NFS Most Wanted, but it runs for a couple of minutes, and then the PC freezes. I'm running Memtest overnight when I go to bed now to check if the memory isn't the problem. Any thoughts on what the problem could be?

Your help is greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default

Could prolly be your 7900GT overclocking.
__________________

__________________
Let\'s try that again, shall we?
solid102 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Priming doesnt invloved video card. Set EVERYTHING stock and check drivers and conflicts. If that doesnt work rma it.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 176
Default

Your ValueRAM could be it. Maybe try underclocking your ram, sometimes cheap ram isn't stable at the advertised speeds, sometimes it is, it's hit or miss. If your at 200mhz, try 166mhz and see if you still have problems.
StillwaterIT is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well it's probably either cpu memory or motherboard, depending on the results of memtest we can rule in or out memory. motherboard is probably less likely than cpu so that narrows things down a bit. i would check the cpu voltage is actually at the correct voltage because i have seen motherboards set both vcore and vdimm above or below the correct value. next i would try increasing vcore slightly to see if that cures your instability, if it does i would probably RMA the chip because it has been binned wrong.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

sometimes it takes a whole week for a build to settle...I don't know...happens

must be cyber ghosts

;p

a little unsure on your situation though...you only have problems with certain things? IE., problems only occur during cpu intensive apps? If you turn your pc on and do nothing, go to sleep and wake up is it ok? If so I'm thinking you should check for a bios update to that mobo
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 10:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Ran memtest last night. It ran trough 19 passes, for 6 and a half hours, without a single error, so I'm sure it's not the memory. For the BIOS or motherboard info I'll check out the DFI forums.

This only happens during CPU intensive apps, like prime, and games. Thing is, it only happens when both cores have to work together. If I run only one instance of Prime95, it seems to be stable for an hour or so. Haven't run it for long enough to check stability over a long period of time.

It's going to suck if I have to RMA it! Waited over a week for everything to come, and I had to work late every night as well, so couldn't spend more than an hour fidling with it!

Any other thoughts? Has this happened to anyone else before?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 12:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Right, it's stable now. I kept it a 1.4V, but took the Big Typhoon off, and put the stock cooler (which is pretty darn good) back on, and all of a sudden everything is stable and works perfectly!

Which brings me to another question: Is it possible I could have fastened the Typhoon too tightly, and that it was putting too much strain on the CPU/socket/mobo. How tight should it be?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

The Big Typhoon has crappy instructions. Did you make sure to put the sticker foam thingy on the back of the mobo?
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 01:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Yup, I put everytihing on that was supposed to on. I realy think I just put it on too tight, since the stock HSF is giving me no problems! I'll keep the stock one on for now, for at least a month, and afterwards I'll try the Typhoon again.

I was dissapointed to see I have the 110W, and not the 89W X2 4400+! Means it will tend to be a bit hotter once I start to overclock! Oh well, I'm just happy I got the 4400+, cause stocks on those are running low in the UK at the moment!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.