Upgrading work station...Ram and drive Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2007, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Upgrading work station...Ram and drive Help

hey guys..how are you ..well iam upgrading my 3d workstation ..as one of my ram sticks seems to have died for no reason..anyway my current setup is as fallow....
1)Motherboard :asus a8n premium sli
2)GPU: 2 sli Nvidia Geforce 7800 gt
3)Cpu: Amd opteron 170 dual core OC @ 2.4(for now)
4)HD: 2 120 seagate ultra ATA
5)2 :NEC dvd rw drives
and i have a Wacom Cintiq 21UX connected to that setup ....

now when this whole thing started i just wanted to get a new ram but i was wondering:
1)what kind of Ram am i limited 2 here?
2)should i go with low latency ram ..or should i go with something average ?
3)at this point i have to OSs windows xp 64 bit and Ubuntu with glx ..both are running on different partitions on the same drive while ther other one is for data backup ..but i want to go SATA do you think that such setup would benefit from going SATA or am i better off staying with the IDE?what kind of SATA drive am i limited 2 ?
4)do you see anything ells that i should upgrade?allot fo people told me to switch from my sli setup to single 8800 or a DX10 crad ...but i honestly think its not worth it YET.....what do you think?

let me know what do you think guys ,opinion ..parts recommendations ...just explain to me why...
thanks for the help....
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 08:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading work station...Ram and drive Help

DDR is your only limitation. DDR400 is the standar. If you overclock, a higher RAM would benefit you because it wouldn't bother it.

Low latency is good. Cheap RAM usually has crappy latency.

Going to SATA sounds like a good choice for you. Just ghost your drive over, then unplug the IDE drive and set the SATA drive as the boot drive.

You look good to go. As long as you have some decent cooling, you are set.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 03:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: Upgrading work station...Ram and drive Help

i was actually looking at these 2 ..but i am not sure if i would be able to hold my system at 2.6 so its either timings or OC
Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Newegg.com - mushkin 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) with EPP Profile Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

hmmmm???
zenyora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.