upgrading video...more cpu?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2010, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default upgrading video...more cpu??

Im wanting to upgrade my video card to play the nigher end games. Currently with COD MW2 i have to have all the settings on low, with anti aliasing off etc. My big question is when i upgrade the video card will my other computer componets still limit my use of it. Im trying to keep the video card around $150 and same for motherboard/cpu if needed. Any advice on what would be the best buy for the money on a video card and moth./cpu if needed would be great as well. Thanks guys.

-----------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 9/3/2010, 13:09:59
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+ (2 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4094MB RAM
Page File: 1584MB used, 6602MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 32bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS 256mb
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 8600 GTS
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0400&SUBSYS_C7653842&REV_A1
Display Memory: 2030 MB
Dedicated Memory: 239 MB
Shared Memory: 1791 MB
Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: ACER X193W
Monitor Model: X193W
Monitor Id: ACR000C
__________________

yota03 is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

What size is the power supply, in watts? And the Manufacturer. This info should be printed on the side of the power supply.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

An 8600? Ouch. >.< The X2 5000+ is decent but rather long in the tooth.

First things first... what PSU are you using? What motherboard do you have? Your PSU will limit you as far as graphics cards go due to power requirements. It may be possible to upgrade your CPU and use your current mobo, but only if it is capable of running a better CPU.

Here's a couple of CPU/mobo suggestions.
MSI 870-G45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor ADX630WFGIBOX

Combo Price: $148.98

MSI 880GM-E41 AM3 AMD 880G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor ADX630WFGIBOX

Combo Price: $158.98

Newegg.com - VisionTek 900268 Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
$100

Newegg.com - FSP Group SAGA&#43; 500R 500W ATX2.2 Power Supply
$45

Newegg.com - OCZ StealthXStream OCZ500SXS 500W ATX12V &#47; EPS12V Active PFC Power Supply
$55

Newegg.com - Antec Basiq BP500U 500W Continuous Power ATX12V Version 2.01 Active PFC Power Supply
$55
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

video card around $150
the AMD HD 5770 for sure.
Computer Hardware,Video Cards & Video Devices,Desktop Graphics / Video Cards,Radeon HD 5000 series,Radeon HD 5770

just pick out the cooler you like the most.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

Thanks for advice so far, I could do a little more on the video card if i don't have to upgrade anything else, but $300 total would be MAX; really would like more like $220ish. And thanks again, i really appreciate it, been a few years since i built anything (got married) and it doesn't take long to fall out of the loop of whats good and what isn't.

Here is my power supply.

---XION Simple Power 630W ATX Power Supply

As for motherboard

---Asus M2A-VM AMD 690G Socket AM2 Motherboard

Specifications

Processor Interface: Socket AM2
Form Factor: MicroATX
Processors Supported: AMD Athlon 64
AMD Athlon 64 FX
AMD Sempron
AMD Athlon 64 X2
Additional Technologies: HyperTransport Technology
AMD64
Northbridge: AMD 690G
Southbridge: ATI SB600
Memory Supported: Dual Channel Supported
DDR2 667
DDR2 800
Number of Pins: 240-Pin
Number of Slots: 4
Maximum Memory Supported: 4GB - 32bit
8GB - 64bit
Audio Chipset: Realtek ALC883 HD
Video Chipset: ATI Radeon X1250
Video Memory: 256MB Shared Memory
LAN Type: 10/100/1000 Mbps Gigabit
PCI Slots: 2
PCI Express X1 Slots: 1
PCI Express X16 Slots: 1
PS/2 Keyboard Connectors: 1
PS/2 Mouse Connectors: 1
Parallel Ports: 1
USB Ports (Total): 10
LAN Ports: 1
Audio Out Jacks: 1
IDE Headers: 1
FDD Headers: 1
Serial ATA Headers: 4
ATX Power Connectors: 1
PC Power Connectors: 1
Fan Connectors: 3
VGA Ports: 1
DVI Ports: 1
Width: 9.000 in. (22.86 cm)
yota03 is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 09:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

OK, it looks like your mobo can actually support decent CPUs. Here's the link to Asus's specs (link)... go there and click the CPU Support List for the whole nine yards. You can use any of the Athlon II x4's and most of the Phenom II x4 (up to a 945), as well as the tri-cores.

With that knowledge you could go with this CPU:
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor ADX630WFGIBOX
keep your present PSU, and go with a beefier card. Fat.Clown offered a great suggestion with the 5770. I would go with this XFX due tot he warranty and the fact that the cooler will push the hot air out of the case:
Newegg.com - XFX HD-577A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770 &#40;Juniper XT&#41; 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

A total of around $260.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

A little confused... So my AM2 socket motherboard will support the AM2+ and AM3 cpu's?
yota03 is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

By the looks of it, yes, though, you may have to update your BIOS.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 06:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

Here is the description for the bios update in order to support AM3. Since the max HT link is only 1000MHz and the processor is 4000 will this severally limit the use of my cpu. If so should I buy a MotherBoard? If you have a better suggestion or a better buy for a MB/cpu bundle plz advise i'm going to try to order the stuff later on today.
Thx guys, ive already give +rep for all replys so far.

M2A-VM BIOS 5001
1. Beta Bios for Supporting AM3 CPUs.
2. System still able to POST when set CPU Multiplier to 35X, but actual frequency will not change.
3. Due to chipset limitation, Max HT Link is 1000MHz only.
4. It will no display if downgrade Bios to lower version.
yota03 is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: upgrading video...more cpu??

Go with a bundle if at all possible. This one will save you $20:
* AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX
* ASUS M4A785-M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Combo Price: $154.98

By going with a AM2/AM2+/AM3 board you will be able to reuse your current RAM.

To stay within your budget, go with the XFX 5750 instead of the 5770:
Newegg.com - XFX HD-575X-ZNFC Radeon HD 5750 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
$139.99 + $7.87 Shipping
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Video Card, need help diablo333911 System Upgrades 1 01-12-2009 11:00 PM
Upgrading Video Card Nerheim System Upgrades 4 07-09-2008 08:14 PM
Upgrading video tmoore8781 System Upgrades 7 10-10-2007 07:10 AM
Upgrading CPU/RAM/VIDEO BennyV04988 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-16-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrading Video card + GFX PZEROFGH New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-08-2006 07:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.