upgrading video card. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2010, 08:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: upgrading video card.

okay so heres the deal i just bought the geforce gt220.
when i buy a new psu, i might return it for store credit and get a newer card.
how does that sound so far?
__________________

The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 01:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: upgrading video card.

I know the gt 240 would run starcraft while staying in those wattages but its a card not worth its cost. I got mine free thats why I even own one. SO maybe the 5670 might work
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 02:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: upgrading video card.

Lol, not really trying to get into next gen games on my pc, that's mostly done on my xbox360 or ps3. I just need it to run startcraft 2 and it does the job so I'm satisfied. Maybe I'll upgrade to a better psu later on.
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 12:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: upgrading video card.

I think a 220 only has 32 cores.. Its not really a game type card.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 03:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: upgrading video card.

which psu would be the better choice?
OCZ
CBiT.ca*::*Power Supply and UPS*::*Power Supplies*::*OCZ STEALTHXSTREAM 600W POWER SUPPLY
CoolMaster
CBiT.ca*::*Power Supply and UPS*::*Power Supplies*::*Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 600W ATX Power Supply

as for the video card, im thinking about exchanging it for either a geforce gts250? or something between the 5600 or 5700 for radeon, again from the site cbit.ca
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 06:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: upgrading video card.

the ocz.

if you were to exchange the card, this one would probably give you the most performance for your money,
CBiT.ca*::*Video Cards*::*Nvidia (PCI-Express)*::*(1145) (RETAIL) (GEFORCE GTS 250) 1GB DDR3 (DUAL SLOT DESIGN) / PCI-Ex 2.0 / 1x VGA / 1x DUAL LINK DVI / 1x HDMI
compared to the other cards they offer there for around the same price.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 07:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: upgrading video card.

sounds good, copping the ocz and that gts 250
i hope it aint that hard to replace the psu, the only cords that need to be replaced on the motherboard is that 24 connector or are there other things to look out for.
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 08:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: upgrading video card.

it really isn't hard.

for the motherboard there should only be two cables to connect, the 20 (or 24) pin and the 4 (or 8) pin.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 08:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: upgrading video card.

then the rest you can just plus the power to like the hdd, cd drives and other peripherals in the machine.
i think the wires will all be messy once i remove the old psu and add the new one, since it all tied nicely right now.
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 10:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Default Re: upgrading video card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
I think a 220 only has 32 cores.. Its not really a game type card.
Actually it has 48 cores
__________________

GoogleIntel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Video Card Nerheim System Upgrades 4 07-09-2008 08:14 PM
CPU or video card - which needs upgrading? Striken New Systems | Building and Buying 13 08-22-2007 05:51 PM
Upgrading Video Card Talis System Upgrades 5 12-10-2006 04:06 PM
Upgrading Video Card. akasixcon System Upgrades 1 10-20-2006 02:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.