Upgrading RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2008, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Upgrading RAM

Right now I have 2x512mb sticks of RAM (corsair value select DDR-400)... I wish to upgrade to more ram... Do I need to get the same type of ram? Or can It be made by someone else with different timings (ddr-800)?

Also, should I get two more sticks of 512? or just one more stick of 1 gig? What is the difference?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel P4 2.8Ghz
GPU: Radeon X800 XL w/ heatpipes
RAM: 2x512mb Corsair Value Select
HD: 80G WD
Mobo: Abit AG8
CPU Cooling: Heatpipes
Case: Lightweight custom case
Fans: 2 120mm cooler master fans
Pain53 is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

If you want different timings or faster speed, you need to get rid of the 512 and buy a pair.

What motherboard do you have? I would think a pair of 1GB is nice and you throw that 512 away.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Check my sig, just updated it
__________________
CPU: Intel P4 2.8Ghz
GPU: Radeon X800 XL w/ heatpipes
RAM: 2x512mb Corsair Value Select
HD: 80G WD
Mobo: Abit AG8
CPU Cooling: Heatpipes
Case: Lightweight custom case
Fans: 2 120mm cooler master fans
Pain53 is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 09:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

OK, it only supports DDR-400 and DDR-333, so not DDR-800. For the overall rig, I might think it's better to get 1GB total ram. Buy another 512MB valueram.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 12:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

well, I already have 1 gig, so one more 512?
__________________
CPU: Intel P4 2.8Ghz
GPU: Radeon X800 XL w/ heatpipes
RAM: 2x512mb Corsair Value Select
HD: 80G WD
Mobo: Abit AG8
CPU Cooling: Heatpipes
Case: Lightweight custom case
Fans: 2 120mm cooler master fans
Pain53 is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 12:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Then leave it alone. No point in wasting money putting more in.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 01:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Alright, thanks
__________________
CPU: Intel P4 2.8Ghz
GPU: Radeon X800 XL w/ heatpipes
RAM: 2x512mb Corsair Value Select
HD: 80G WD
Mobo: Abit AG8
CPU Cooling: Heatpipes
Case: Lightweight custom case
Fans: 2 120mm cooler master fans
Pain53 is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 10:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Then leave it alone. No point in wasting money putting more in.
What you are really saying is he should be upgrading his entire PC soon? :nerd:
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 10:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

essentially yes, which is what he's going to be doing soon enough. at least from what I've heard he is.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 12:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Yup, i hope to soon
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel P4 2.8Ghz
GPU: Radeon X800 XL w/ heatpipes
RAM: 2x512mb Corsair Value Select
HD: 80G WD
Mobo: Abit AG8
CPU Cooling: Heatpipes
Case: Lightweight custom case
Fans: 2 120mm cooler master fans
Pain53 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading RAM mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-16-2008 05:57 AM
Upgrading RAM Mikkilla New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-31-2008 02:04 AM
Upgrading RAM xjobobobx System Upgrades 14 03-18-2008 08:45 PM
upgrading ram krap928 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 12-04-2007 12:07 PM
Upgrading RAM in laptop, NEED ADVICE. c_los Laptops and Notebooks 13 11-20-2007 02:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.