Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2008, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775)

Hi.

I need to upgrade to quadcore cpu.
This computer has 2GHz core 2 and the chipset is Intel Bearlake Q35.
So this should support most quad cores ?

Whats the best cpu in terms of bang for buck, I don't need fast cpu cores, just lots of them.
Im not going to overclock (intel boards just dont allow it)
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775)

Which motherboard?
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default Re: Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775)

Intel Montpelier DQ35MP motherboard (this is at least what Everest says)

(Hey you could also give a hint where I should order the cpu, Germany might be better than Finland)
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775)

Intel Desktop Board DQ35MP - Supported processors

Now i'm guessing this board will handle a q6600/6700 but i'd be lying if i said i knew for sure if it would handle a 45nm chip.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 04:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775)

It should be able to, those things were made specifically to have support for them to come out..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 06:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775)

id recommend the q6600
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 06:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

So 45nm might work..
But what chip to buy, is now the right time or is there going to be price cuts in few months?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
id recommend the q6600
But thats old technology, is it really good idea or how much there is price difference between it and the new chips ?
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 06:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775)

old i didnt hear that. its the best bang for ur buck cpu out. c'mon man
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 01:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading to quadcore (socket 775)

Haha... Q6600 is NOT outdated technology... its better than the 45nm Quad's because it doesn't have a low Multiplier...

45nm Quad's only work well with OC'ing if you have a high FSB supporting board
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for: Socket 775 Mobo nOcLuE98 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 12-26-2007 03:06 PM
Upgrading my system..a few questions yamahammer342 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-13-2007 11:04 PM
can 478 socket fit 775 csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 18 12-10-2007 10:52 PM
FS: e6320 dual core socket 775 4mb L2 Cache FghtinIrshNvrDi Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 12-09-2007 12:53 PM
Socket Question Aragorn2316 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-28-2007 04:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.