Upgrading PSU on a Dell Dimension 3000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2006, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Question Upgrading PSU on a Dell Dimension 3000

I am looking to upgrade my Dell and I need to change the PSU. Dell does not give me any information as to whether I can use a generic 350w PSU in replacement of my 250w that came with my system. I understand that in the past Dell created proprietary PSUs and I am wondering if that would be the case for my Dell Dim. 3000. Has anyone out there upgraded theirs successfully?? Thank you for your help.
__________________

PowerGrip is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Dell uses a proprietary type power supply. There aren't many after market PSU that will work with a Dell Motherboard. BUT!!!
PC Power and Cooling makes Dell specific power supplies.
www.pcpowerandcooling.com

I have a 1yr old PCP&C Turbo-Cool 425w for Dell Dimension Desktops that i'm not using anymore. I'm willing to part with it pretty cheap. If you are interested Private Message me.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Dell uses a proprietary type power supply. There aren't many after market PSU that will work with a Dell Motherboard. BUT!!!
PC Power and Cooling makes Dell specific power supplies.
www.pcpowerandcooling.com

I have a 1yr old PCP&C Turbo-Cool 425w for Dell Dimension Desktops that i'm not using anymore. I'm willing to part with it pretty cheap. If you are interested Private Message me.
I did go to Pc Power and Cooling and they do not list a replacement power supply for a dimension 3000. What model Dimension is your power supply for?
PowerGrip is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

http://www.endpcnoise.com/cgi-bin/e/dellconverter.html
septoid2 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

They've recently updated that list I guess. Give me a sec and i'll find out if my PSU is compatible.

UPDATE:

Ok, the ULTRA-QUIET DELL PSU: SILENCER¬ģ 410 DELL-2 will work with your Dimension. The (3) requirements you need are:

1.) 20Pin 12v
2.) P4
3.) No Switch on PSU

That PSU I listed meets all three. Also the PSU that I have meets those requirements also.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by septoid2
http://www.endpcnoise.com/cgi-bin/e/dellconverter.html
No. That isn't required for the Dell Dimension 3000 because it uses either a P4 or a Celeron.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.