upgrading PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2006, 09:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default upgrading PSU

i have a fortron 400w psu right now, and pretty much from the get-go it's been having problems with crashes and low voltage (11.58-11.64v on PSU tests). since I added an additional hard drive, the problem has just gotten worse. pretty much double the crashes.

anyways, how's this? http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817128005

I have a 3700+ OC'ed to 2.55
1 gig of ram
1 40gig hdd
1 80gig hdd
6600gt (will upgrade to 7600gt sometime soon)
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I have a personal bias for OCZ stuff and their power supplies are no exceptions

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817711002

A bit more pricey than other power supplies, but I've tested mine and the rails do absolutely not budge whatsoever. It's quiet and looks nice, and unlike most PSUs that are going with the multiple weak 12v rails, this one just has a single with much more amperage (I think it's 34a)

The best thing though is the warranty, 5 year which is amazing for a PSU plus OCZ support has always been much better than any other company
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

wow, yes that is pricey, but understandable considering the quality/warranty.

thats probably more than i want to spend. i'd like to keep it under $80. does OCZ or someone similar make something in that price range with 450+ watts?
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 11:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

yeah they had something in the 400 range but it looks like they've discontinued it or replaced it with these SLI versions as newegg doesn't seem to carry it anymore. You may also want to look into the modstreams, they are a bit watered down and come in 420 and 520 variants I believe but are also modular and much cheaper at that
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

ok, i've narrowed it down to:

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817104954
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817128005
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103464

i'm really liking the antec. thoughts?
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 07:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

they are all decent, but not if you want to upgrade again, i just bought the 580w hiper, it was either the 700w thermaltake quad rail, for $150 or the hiper for $99, they both have really good points

your looking for something cheaper, check the rosewill $80 range, and the zeroDBA areocool i think

i also checked the ocz modstearm and didnt really like it, for the price atleast
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 07:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

have u looked at this?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 07:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

do I even need that much power??
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 08:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

well its 89 bux kinda in your price range and also a good brand nam.

also remember theat you wont be using all 500 watts only what you need and the higher wattage rating you have and the less you use makes for better psu effecincy its good to always go a little over on your psu.now if you add another hd or something again you wont have this problem.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 10:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

that's true. thanks for the input
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.