Upgrading processors. AMD Quad Core. Why buy 965? Is 940 a better choice? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2010, 03:29 AM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Upgrading processors. AMD Quad Core. Why buy 965? Is 940 a better choice?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
^^what do u mean by chokes?

The square things here are chokes.
each power 'phase' has one choke.
motherboards use power 'phases' to power the CPU - each 'phase' takes turns in powering the CPU.
If it has 8 phases for the CPU, then each one is working 1/8 of the time to provide power.
The less time each one works for, the longer it lasts, the less heat it has, and the better it works (heat tends to affect them significantly)

What the choke does is resists sudden changes in the level of power, so it becomes smoother. Counting them is an easy way to count the number of phases a motherboard has.
They'll come after the MOSFET's for each phase, which essentially are what determine the amount of volts supplied. It's the MOSFET's that really do the work, and you want them to run cool.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
also, i say 965. Get's u closer to 4.0GHz anyways. If u want the best of the best, get the highest 6-core Phenom II.
4GHz can be done on the 1055T.
It just means you'll need a board that handle high HTT speeds

Unlocked multipliers make it easier to reach the CPU's potential. But you often can do it with the HTT bus as long as the board is good enough.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 01:00 AM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Upgrading processors. AMD Quad Core. Why buy 965? Is 940 a better choice?

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TA785 A2+ AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G ATX AMD Motherboard

How many chokes are on this board? I could be wrong but I count 6 for the CPU. 1 near the 4pin 12vatx connector (What is this one for?) 1 for the northbridge and 2 for the ram.

Am I wrong? This one should give me quite a bit more headroom, right? It uses DDR2, looks like it has a good number of chokes, and supports the Phenom II x6 1055t.
What do you think Apokalipse?

I think I might need to steal my sisters Athlon 64 x2 5400+ BE for a few minutes to flash the BIOS. Something makes me think the BIOS won't be updated when I get it. I can handle that though.
I just need to know if this board looks like it will allow me to get a better overclock. I mean there are 10 total chokes as opposed to 4 total on my current board. That HAS to make a difference
.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 12:03 AM   #33 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Upgrading processors. AMD Quad Core. Why buy 965? Is 940 a better choice?

The more chokes, the better OCing, correct?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 12:18 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Upgrading processors. AMD Quad Core. Why buy 965? Is 940 a better choice?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
The more chokes, the better OCing, correct?
Not directly. More chokes means "cleaner" power is supplied to the processor and you can pull more amps through the motherboard without it taking a **** on you and turning off.

Or at least this is my understanding.

The problem is this 6-core Phenom demands a lot of power (watts). And my motherboard can't supply the power.
If you have a dual core 45watt AMD or low-power Intel then you have nothing to worry about because even a cheap-*** mobo is going to be able to power it.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 04:02 AM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Upgrading processors. AMD Quad Core. Why buy 965? Is 940 a better choice?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TA785 A2+ AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G ATX AMD Motherboard

How many chokes are on this board? I could be wrong but I count 6 for the CPU. 1 near the 4pin 12vatx connector (What is this one for?) 1 for the northbridge and 2 for the ram.

Am I wrong? This one should give me quite a bit more headroom, right? It uses DDR2, looks like it has a good number of chokes, and supports the Phenom II x6 1055t.
What do you think Apokalipse?

I think I might need to steal my sisters Athlon 64 x2 5400+ BE for a few minutes to flash the BIOS. Something makes me think the BIOS won't be updated when I get it. I can handle that though.
I just need to know if this board looks like it will allow me to get a better overclock. I mean there are 10 total chokes as opposed to 4 total on my current board. That HAS to make a difference
.
It's 6 phases for the CPU. You don't count the ones for memory, or for the motherboard's northbridge.
Which means either 4 for the CPU cores and 2 for the CPU's northbridge/HTT, or more likely 5 for the CPU cores and 1 for the CPU's northbridge/HTT

Number of phases isn't everything, but it's a reasonable indicator of how well it can regulate power.

The chokes are an easy way to count the number of phases. It's the MOSFET's that are the most important aspect.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
Not directly. More chokes means "cleaner" power is supplied to the processor and you can pull more amps through the motherboard without it taking a **** on you and turning off.

Or at least this is my understanding.

The problem is this 6-core Phenom demands a lot of power (watts). And my motherboard can't supply the power.
If you have a dual core 45watt AMD or low-power Intel then you have nothing to worry about because even a cheap-*** mobo is going to be able to power it.
It could probably supply (barely) enough power at stock speeds, or with an overclock that doesn't require an increase in volts.
Better power regulation will improve a board's ability to handle a better overclock.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question regarding dual and quad core processors. Saint71 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-14-2009 11:41 PM
I just dont get it (single core vs dual/quad core processors) nukeman8 PC Gaming 4 08-29-2008 11:49 AM
How to Allocate System resources quad core processors Creedance Overclocking and Modding 7 11-09-2007 03:05 PM
Worth the wait for Quad-core processors? Akulamkii System Upgrades 13 09-06-2006 12:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.