Upgrading, please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2006, 03:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 104
Default Upgrading, please help

This is my current computer:

Asus A8N32-Sli Deluxe motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 FX60
2x eVGA 7900 GTX 512 Superclocked
Creative X-Fatal1ty
2 GB (2 x 1GB) 184 Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
700W Power supply


My power supply seems like it blew up, my computer wont stay on for more than 2 seconds without turning off again. So right now I can't use it, so i'm thinking of doing some upgrades. And I need some help

I'm thinking of getting a 1000W Power supply instead now, here is the link:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703003


Also, I'm thinking of changing my RAM, but I don't know to what. I want a faster RAM memory, and I was told I should get a (PC 4000) one. I really don't know much about this, but I was thinking of Corsair again, or OCZ.

Also my friend told me, I should get DDR3, but I don't even know if that is out yet, lol. Or if its compatible with what I have... Anyway, I thought of getting this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227066


I don't really know tho, if theres anything better from Corsair I can get, please help me. I would like faster memory RAM.
__________________

ChibChombo is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

1000 Watt?





Get a OCZ Game Extreme power supply or one of those PC and power cooling 750 SI's.

Also your ram is fine. Unless you want to overclock your just wasting your money buying new ram.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 104
Default

Could you link me to the supply plz
ChibChombo is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Ummm... try this first before you spend all that money on something you may or may not need....

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 04:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 104
Default

Btw, on the Asus A8N32 Sli, you can only put 2 video cards and 1 sound card right? theres no more space for anything else?
ChibChombo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.