Upgrading pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2015, 03:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: us
Posts: 54
Default Upgrading pc

I forgot This is my computer it tells you all about it

HP Pavilion p7-1414 Desktop PC Product Specifications HP Pavilion p7-1414 Desktop PC | HP® Support

Im trying to get his graphics card



http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Supercloc...ywords=geforce gtx 750 ti

this is my power supply

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0092ML0OC/...F3IXBVDV&psc=1



computer case

Amazon.com: Cooler Master HAF 912 - Mid Tower Computer Case with High Airflow: Computers & Accessories case mid tower



would it work or have any problems
__________________

mightydanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Upgrading pc

Yes.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: us
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yes.
What about the case to the motherboard
mightydanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Upgrading pc

According to the specs, your board is a micro-ATX form factor, and that case will support a micro-ATX board - so it should be fine. You'll just have to put the brass standoffs in the correct positions to line up with the holes on the board.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: us
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
According to the specs, your board is a micro-ATX form factor, and that case will support a micro-ATX board - so it should be fine. You'll just have to put the brass standoffs in the correct positions to line up with the holes on the board.
Ok what im confused about is the colored wires that the case have. I saw a video of a guy installing them but it didnt look lile my motherboard had the ports
mightydanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Upgrading pc

Colored wires, you mean the front panel connectors? Every case has this and every motherboard has this. It's a standard. Your case will have markings on these connectors saying stuff like "power button", "reset", ect. Take note (or a picture or two) of where these positions are on your motherboard. When you install into the new case plug them in exactly as they are. The same goes for the other cables that connect to the board from the case like the front audio.

Now if you want a piece of advice, don't get the case and instead get a better GPU. You don't need the new case. You can also get the CX500 instead to save more cash to get an even better GPU. Also, if you don't have Amazon Prime I suggest ordering from Newegg instead as their prices are generally cheaper. If you use Amazon because you have Prime you can ignore that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: us
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading pc

Ok hmm i have one quistion what is a cheap really gppd graphics card that cost maybe between 100 and 200 dollars
mightydanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Upgrading pc

Well the card you linked is a 750 (non TI).

This is cheaper and actually way better than the non TI version.
Amazon.com: EVGA GeForce GTX 750Ti with G-SYNC Support 2GB GDDR5 128bit, Dual-Link, DVI-I, HDMI, DP Graphics Card (02G-P4-3751-KR): Computers & Accessories

The breaking edge of 200.
http://www.amazon.com/XFX-Double-933...eywords=r9+280

Little cheaper.
Amazon.com: MSI AMD Radeon R9 270X Gaming 2GB GDDR5 2DVI/HDMI/DisplayPort PCI-Express Video Card: Computers & Accessories
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: us
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading pc

The thing im worried about is the power. Like it will output 750 into my motherboard or ??? I dony want anything yo break
mightydanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Upgrading pc

Uh, what?

It'll be fine. If you're referring to the "750" in the name, that's just the model.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a HD AND upgrading to XP. Which do I do first? MrSpiff Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-27-2002 12:27 AM
Upgrading Old Computer technodude Overclocking and Modding 4 08-20-2002 09:59 AM
Upgrading Old Computer technodude Overclocking and Modding 4 08-20-2002 09:59 AM
Kernel32.dll Invalid page faults while upgrading from Win 98 to Win 2000 pro bill1127 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-02-2002 10:19 PM
Kernel32.dll Invalid page faults while upgrading from Win 98 to Win 2000 pro bill1127 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-02-2002 10:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.