Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2011, 05:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

Hi I am currently using an Nvidia gtx 220, its overclocked and fried, I play games like world of warcraft and want to play on high resolutions, I recently purchased the Msi Nvidia GTX 570 (Newegg.com - MSI N570GTX-M2D12D5 GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card), and I was told if my power supply can't handle the card my computer wont work, I have a dell manufactured Desktop and my Power supply is a 'Bestec ATX0350P5WA (Never heard of the company before). The serial label reads as the following':
+5V / 18A
+12VA / 12A
+12VB / 18A
+3.3V / 17A
-12V / 0.8A
+5Vaux / 2A

3.3V & 5V 160W MAX
12VA & 12VB 300W MAX
Will this power supply be capable of running the GTX 570? if not, what do I need to buy/do in order to get it working, tyvm for any help or assistance you may provide.
__________________

bonzaboi is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

To put it short. **** No. You have almost less than half the watts needed and less than half the amps and I doubt you have 2 6pin connectors.

Try that.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply

Sorry to sound rude I'm actually just hoping you didn't try plugging it in. lol
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

So if I buy the CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply and install that power supply system, then put the new graphics card in, it will work?
bonzaboi is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

Absolutely. Just as long as you've connected everything properly it'll purr like a kitten. Figuratively.

Out of curiosity what model dell do you have? I don't want you to run into any unexpected problems.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Abstract, does it matter if I dont buy that one, atm my PSU is 369 watts at full stress and Im guessing I need aroudn 550-600 watt PSU to power the GTX 570, will any old 550-600 watt PSU support it? or are there specific requirements?

Apparently I need a 550-600 watt PSU with 40+A, I dont know what 40+A means if u can explain

I have Dell studio 540, x-64 based pc, Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz, 2499 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
bonzaboi is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 07:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

There are a few specifics.
Watts, Amps, Connectors, Reliability. Buy any ol' cheap 550W and you risk blowing your whole system.

YOU DO NOT WANT TO BE CHEAP WHEN BUYING A PSU!!! Look at it this way. You are putting your systems life in the hands of your power supply. Who you gonna trust?

40amps in short is the amount of power needed from a specific section of the PSU that will power your gpu.

You're machine is good besides that but it'll be a tight fit as far as the card goes. BUT you need a good PSU...
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
4P_Bulldozer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 205
Default Re: Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

I agree. Larger Power Supply and good luck getting it (and that long double-wide Card) into a Dell. Check and measure before you buy.
__________________
Bulldozer Will Rule.

http://img.tineye.com/result/adb2576...a2f274a8433fda Got a question, try the Search Bar.
4P_Bulldozer is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abstract Hero View Post
YOU DO NOT WANT TO BE CHEAP WHEN BUYING A PSU!!!
+100000000000000000000
I've seen far too many computers die because the buyer skimped out for a cheap, unknown PSU brand.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
+100000000000000000000
I've seen far too many computers die because the buyer skimped out for a cheap, unknown PSU brand.
My buddy put his 5970 on a no name brand 1000W PSU, and now he has one of the most expensive paper weights.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 08:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Upgrading Nvidia 220 to GTX 570, will power supply support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
My buddy put his 5970 on a no name brand 1000W PSU, and now he has one of the most expensive paper weights.
ROFL!!! I love it.

Corsair has a short video about cheap PSUs. They take a 450W PSU without the exterior cover and put it under 75% load, videoing it as it blew. And then another one just like it, and another. they said they bought six identical PSus and all blew within TWO minutes on a 75% load. Two cheap PSUs cost as much as the Corsair, so where was the savings?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I know if my power supply can support the i3 or i5 CPU? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-22-2010 11:33 PM
Upgrading Power supply? chump New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-12-2010 07:54 PM
Need help with upgrading power supply Xonicx System Upgrades 4 06-04-2007 03:25 PM
Upgrading Power Supply Knalatos System Upgrades 13 06-05-2006 12:59 PM
Upgrading my power supply melonabusar2 System Upgrades 4 03-27-2006 08:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.