upgrading, need some basic info - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2008, 07:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default

If he complains of lag in the city, he can't return it for a 4850. I don't why you would be on a budget, if you're playing a game, that you have to pay $180 a year to play, on a high res monitor.
__________________

__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 07:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

Well the HD 4830 can OC better than a HD 4850 for some reason.. so it he wants a light OC, its not hard...

I'm pretty sure he'll be at 1680x1050 or 1440x900, so an HD 4850 would be kind of useless, even in cities
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 07:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

So, you're saying there is even a chance that World of Warcraft will "lag" in the city with a 4830...? Laptops with intel gma 950's can play WoW.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 07:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronkupen View Post
So, you're saying there is even a chance that World of Warcraft will "lag" in the city with a 4830...? Laptops with intel gma 950's can play WoW.
True, a 7600GT can max out WoW at a pretty high res, and can max out CSS @ 1600x1200 and still get a solid 90-??? (??? = the default cap that CSS runs at)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 07:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

Alright, but a 4850 is like future proof, and he might get bored of WoW, and might want to play games like CoD: WaW, or some other new game, that the 4830 might only perform descent on, and when a new shipment of newer games games come in with better gfx..
__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 07:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337_JohnN View Post
Alright, but a 4850 is like future proof, and he might get bored of WoW, and might want to play games like CoD: WaW, or some other new game, that the 4830 might only perform descent on, and when a new shipment of newer games games come in with better gfx..
Still don't want to rain on your parade, but a 4830 would still be fine.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 07:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

I can max COD:WAW on my HD 3850 512mb and have AA on 2x @ 1440x900, and the 9800GT/8800GT can do the same at 1440x900, and the HD 4830 beats both.. (Ricanflow does it on his 8800GT 512MB)

its not very demanding at all.. plus those res' are rather low, so it's still possible on most of the non-over demanding games
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 07:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

What is his res??
__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 08:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

1680x1050
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 08:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: upgrading, need some basic info

8800GT, 9800GT and 4830 are all great cards and can run any game on med-high settings out as of now.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from pre-built to custom built SuxoR New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-23-2008 01:43 AM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 02:41 PM
Upgrading my Gaming Rig - Few questions blayez New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-30-2008 08:44 AM
My computer seriously hates me. Thorn Microsoft Windows and Software 26 05-06-2008 06:06 PM
Thinking of Upgrading video card or RAM info? Chrizah New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-30-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.