upgrading my system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2007, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default upgrading my system

I have a workstation that i build last year that i want to upgrade , initially i build this one for doing 3D work using Maya,zbrush ,etc ...but i some how ended up with few games on there ..because its was my first build , i somehow ended up with what i would describe as an unbalanced machine especially.... during rendering ...HANG..
Specs:
Amd Opteron 170 Dual Core @2.4
Asus A8n SLI premium
EVGA Nvidia 7800GT
1gig (some value select ram)
120 gig seagate Ultra ATA drive

now i have my eyes on two 300 WD SATA drives , but i also need 2 gigs of ram ..any recommendations? would you recommend any other upgrades?
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Your RAM is the most important upgrade.

For the Hard drive:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
Your RAM is the most important upgrade.

For the Hard drive:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140
yeah i figured that 2 , but i cant seem to find the right RAM...but thanks for the drive ....its allot cheaper than the ones i picked..
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145575

Sell your old sticks
turtile is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 07:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

or use them both (if it fits)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
Your RAM is the most important upgrade.

For the Hard drive:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140
get that hdd

and the this ram that turtile mentioned-
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820145575

just keep your old sticks as a back up or something, im pretty sure you wont be able to use them together.....
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I wouldn't use the old sticks unless you want the new memory to run much slower.

The 939 controller falls back to 2T timings instead of 1T if you use 4 sticks and the value ram isn't as fast as the XMS to begin with. (must run all at the same speed)
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.