Upgrading my PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2009, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Upgrading my PSU

We all know that Dells are terrible for upgrading and what I'm trying to upgrade isn't the easiest thing to find. I'm trying to upgrade my current PSU from 300w to 430w for my Dell Inspiron 518.

This is how the story goes:

I finally made money, and I had enough to upgrade my video card, which is old (3450 256MB) to an XFX Geforce 9800GT 512MB GDDR3, well when I got home, I was excited..VERY excited. I unboxed everything, did the video card swap, only to realize...NO! MY PSU DOESNT SUPPORT THE 6 PIN CONNECTOR!!!! AND ITS ONLY 300W!!!!! (I also learned a lesson; do some research before upgrading) and I got very GGGRRRR angry :3

Anyways I'm looking at this PSU:

Thermaltake PurePower 430-Watt Power Supply - ATX, Dual 80mm Fan, 2024-Pin, SATA Ready, PCI-E Ready W0070RUC in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

I also did some research and I found this:

Amazon.com: Thermaltake W0070RUC TR2 Series 430W Power Supply with 2 Fans: Electronics

They're relatively the same thing, same wattage, practically the same look; except for the sticker on the side, and they're the same series made by the same guys (And they're most likely the same thing)

Now, the reason why I'm showing you the amazon PSU is because I found this page:

Review - DELL INSPIRON 518 Power Supply Upgrade | HIGHLOGIC.NET




So would this be a good PSU swap? Im planning on putting the Tiger Direct one into my PC, not the Amazon one because I can't buy stuff online



But I also have another question, my card came with a 6 pin connector (I believe) it looks like this: http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnectors/pcie6.jpg

would I need anything else other than the PSU, or do I just need the PSU?


Thanks in advance

(Mak will be the first one to reply because he is the most helpfullestness)
__________________

TekBubs is offline  
Old 04-09-2009, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Upgrading my PSU

Seems to me I remember reading a thread on this similar issue recently....

PSU Wont support new video card...

:P I'm guessing you lost track of your thread???

I would avoid the Thermaltake purpower 430, I've heard back things. Once again, my suggestion: Corsair VX450W 450-Watt ATX 120mm Fan SATA-Ready Power Supply, 80Plus CMPSU-450VX in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

Great little psu, costs more but you get what you pay for in life.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 03:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Upgrading my PSU

Lol thanks for the reply, my older topic was dying and the PSU was starting to get off track, anyways, I can probably do $70 but my main concern at the moment is compatibility, I have about 25 more days to return my card for a refund, and I REALLY dont wanna do that T.T (Ill be losing the rebate too)



EDIT: Im reading some review on the thermaltake and its getting some pretty good reviews :3 I'd love to get this one but if its problematic like you said then *sigh*
TekBubs is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Upgrading my PSU

Your card should have come with a 6 pin converter type deal so that you could use an older psu. The only problem then would be if 300 watts would be enough to power it. I'm not sure what the minimum is for a 9800
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Upgrading my PSU

Hey, thanks for the reply, it does come with a 6 pin connector but theres no place to connect it on the PSU, and the minimum for the card is 400w

I'm gonna be honest though, I have not opened my PSU up yet cause I dont wanna screw my computer over :S, is it even safe to open it and look for a slot?

(PS: The 6 pin that came with the card wont even reach my power supply anyways)
TekBubs is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Upgrading my PSU

open your psu? You should never have to, nor should you, ever open up your PSU. The adapter should plug into existing plugs already coming out of your PSU so you can use the power from those lines for your GFX card
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Upgrading my PSU

ty o.o I was actually thinking about doing it, but back on track, is it compatible>?
TekBubs is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Upgrading my PSU

Quote:
So would this be a good PSU swap? Im planning on putting the Tiger Direct one into my PC, not the Amazon one because I can't buy stuff online
And I'm asking if the PSU I showed you guys is compatible

Thanks for the options though , you gotta make sure it will work in my dell too
TekBubs is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Upgrading my PSU

the thermaltake you listed will work with your dell, so yes ^

but i would advise against that thermaltake PSU. see my recommendations above. thermaltakes lowend PSU's have low end components and can fail taking out the mobo, cpu, that new gfx card you just bought and anything else hooked up to it.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of upgrading.. Darshek New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-25-2009 04:51 PM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
Upgrading PSU and MOBO Blitersety New Systems | Building and Buying 17 09-22-2008 07:29 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.