upgrading my OLD computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default upgrading my OLD computer

from my really old computer, ive decided to keep few things, im lil short on money.
im gonna keep my radeon9600pro 128mbs , and all of my drives,

what im gonna get:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131541

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144310

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811124063

i cant go over ~350
__________________

ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Very nice! Similar to how I started. I was on a big buck crunch too.

I'm going to suggest steering away from Asus motherboards when using an AMD processor. Lately the Asus boards are buggy. Asus is 'optimized' for pentium 4's, and AMD doesn't get the time of day that they're due. Try this motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127223

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default

thx man, i think im gonna go with that ABIT UL8 ATX AMD Motherboard.

with that system, will i be able to run games such as doom3 half life 2, farcry, quake 4, and fear easily?
ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default

??
ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default

If your Radeon is PCI then I suggest getting a mobo with PCI-E because it will be easier to upgrade your vid card to a much better card in the future. This is unless there is a board with agp and pci-e that ive never heard of.
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 03:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default

my gfx card - agpx8
__________________

ibexpiotr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.