Upgrading my motherboard, processor, video card: ~$600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 12:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default Upgrading my motherboard, processor, video card: ~$600

My current specs are in my signature. I would like to upgrade my processor, which will require a new motherboard. I also want to upgrade my video card. From newegg, please help me choose a good, reliable brand motherboard. I was thinking the right processor class for me is an AMD 64bit, am I right? For the videocard, I was thinking one for around $250-300, since I know that is the medium price for the newest generation of video cards.

After a similar post on GameFAQs forums, I have narrowed down my choices some. The motherboard is always the hardest thing to choose since there are so many of them. Some common suggestions have been EPoX EP-9NPA3ULTRA, Asus A8N5X, and DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D. For the processor I have been told the Athlon 64 3000+ or 3200+ would be very good. For the videocard, I think that it is between X1800XT or XFX 7900GT.

I do plan on overclocking somewhat, with the help of these forums . My current ram is PC3000, is that going to severely limit my OC on the processor? I also plan on overclocking the videocard, possibly. How is stock cooling on these cards? One last question I have is about my PSU, I have a Thermaltake 420W. Will this need to be replaced too :P

Please help! Thanks you very much all! I can answer any further questions/stretch my budget some, so help me build an ideal gaming machine... I want Oblivion + future games to look beautiful
__________________

transcend11 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

as long as you do not ge the 7900GTX i dun thin you will need a new PSU. But thermaltake isnt that great with PSUs. Go with the DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D for sure, or the MSI Neo one, not sure the complete name but its pretty good. either one of those processors are good but you should go fo rthe 3200+. get a 7900GT, either BFG or eVGA.

Not sure about ur Ram though.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

154 dollars

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

122 dollars

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021

150 dollars

Sell your current ram and your 9700 pro and your CPU

200 for video card, which would equal more if you can sell your currenty stuff

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130283

174 dollars

It's hard to find a 7900GT as they are all out of stock

You can also scratch the new ram off the list and buy this 7900GT
http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...x16+Video+Card
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

Your psu will be fine, but depending on what you want to do with your rig, either if you plan on OCing alot get the mem and the 7600 above, but if only a casual OC, dont get ram and wait until the eVGA 7900gt gets back in stock.
GageMW is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 05:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default

This is good to hear. I do not want a hardcore OC, constantly monitoring temps and trying to boost my 3dmark06 score up 5 points at the expense of making my Thermaltake Volcano 12 sound like a blowdrier

Is the DFI LAN party board still recommended by all?

Thanks for the replies!
transcend11 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

is your ram 2X512 or just 1 stick of 1gb? i say don't buy new ram and get the 7900gt - much better performance that way.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default

2 x 512, why do you ask?
transcend11 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

2 sticks of 512 means you are probably running in dual channel, which not only means better preformance but usually better for overclocking
GageMW is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 12:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Yessir it's in dual channel, my current overlock is:

CPU and memory at FSB: 182.2

RAM timings 6 2 2 2.0

With my Athlon XP 2500+ I cannot get my CPU above 185 FSB without instability, which I think my RAM is bottlenecking. I was thinking maybe I need to make the ratio less than 1:1... but I won't have this system much longer
__________________

transcend11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.