Upgrading My Laptops Memory... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2007, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Question Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

would it be a waste to upgrade my memory on my laptop from 512MB to 2GB on a Dell Inspiron 9200 w/ Intel 1.60GHz CPU w/ Windows XP Pro and 256mb graphics card??

the only real reason I would even think about a new laptop is a more up to date CPU ya know?

im thinking no...the 2GB upgrade will do it just fine

im debating whether I would buy a new laptop or desktop

TIA
__________________

__________________
some old out dated P.O.S.
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

I am in the exact same situation as you right now. I want to get a desktop, but with dx10 and vista just coming out, I think it's an expensive time to enter the market if you want performance and futureproofing. My laptop is pretty much the same spec-wise (1.6 turion X2). I currently have 512 of pc4200, and I borrowed another 512 stick from my friends laptop, and it made a huge difference, even with XP. I am defiantly just gonna grab another 1GB stick now, and then building up a rig in september when I go back to uni. For 70 bucks or whatever it costs, you pretty much get a new computer, it's defiantly worth it to hold you off until you really need a new computer.
__________________

jakebrick is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

i dont think it would be a waste

Ill be keeping this laptop
Ill be building a new desktop for the home business and my wife will be getting a laptop for herself

ahhh why not

dell brand specific memory 2GB for $299
yay or nay?
__________________
some old out dated P.O.S.
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

1.6 Ghz processor can only hold maybe 1 gig of ram. I have a 1.0ghz processor (which is crap) only 512mb ram and that all it can hold. So if you want 2 gigs get atleast 3.0ghz processor.
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

I dont think thats true is it?!?!
__________________
some old out dated P.O.S.
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

I am guessing that guy had a brain lapse and is totally wrong, there are not many CPU's that come stock with more than 3.0 GHz anymore, so that makes no sense.

Edit: I'm not really guessing, he is totally wrong (fact).
jakebrick is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 11:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

You can buy computers with 3.5 ghz processors.
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 11:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

a 32bit cpu can take 4gigs physical limit, anything less than that is a limit in the motherboard. chances are if you laptop is from the last few years it can take 2 gigs. and ghz means nothing nowadays. its the chips themselves. the turions are good, not the best, the conroes are better, but they are still good.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 12:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to qbbraveheart
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

lol never try to make decisions on 3 hours sleep haha

I dont even remember why I would post this anyway

and yes im going with 2 gigs
__________________
some old out dated P.O.S.
qbbraveheart is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 12:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading My Laptops Memory...

go with 1gb overall and increase your paging file save the money for a new desktop my laptop only has 1.6ghz pentium m and I added 512mb of ram to make 1gb and it was a good performance boost. 1gb is all you need for average user tasks if you game on your laptop then get 2gb but it seems a waste
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Upgrading sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-29-2007 01:32 PM
memory appears full when it's not! shorinhio Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-29-2007 05:01 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.