Upgrading my GTX 590 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2013, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Upgrading my GTX 590

I'm looking to upgrade my EVGA Classified GTX 590. It is still a pretty sweet card, but I'd like to sell it while it will still fetch me 300+ on ebay, and I'd like to bump up the setting in Crysis 3, Battlefield, etc...

I'll heavily lean towards Nvidia cards, but I'd go AMD if it was the clear choice.

I'm looking at the MSI GTX 780 lighting now on for 515 with a 100 dollar gift bundle that I could probably sell for 50 bucks. The only problem is it isn't a huge upgrade in performance (I don't think) So my other option is going with 2 770's in sli. With my high res monitor I want the 4gb version which are still around 400 dollars, times 2 thats a lot of cash.

Any thoughts would be appreciated!
__________________

__________________
I7-3930k @ 4.4 Ghz w/ H100i Cooler
EVGA X79 FTW
16GB Mushkin Blackline @ 2133
Samsung 240 series 250gb SSD
3 X EVGA superclocked 660ti (3GB)
Corsair AX860i
Corsair Obsidian 650d
32" ACER 2560 X 1440
kpat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Upgrading my GTX 590

I have 2 580s, and can tell you the 590 can play both Crysis 3 and BF3/4 maxed with some AA at 1080p, without at 1600p (I downsampled). But, going dual 770s really isn't that much of an upgrade, as they're just 2 680s. I would look at the 780ti or a couple R9 290s if I was you. 2 R9 290s flashed to the 290x would be way ahead of either dual 770s, or a 780ti/Titan.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Upgrading my GTX 590

The resolution i'm running is where I run into the problem. I realize 2 770's is the same as 2 680's but its still quite a bit better than a single 590. I guess my thinking is it would be quite a bit more powerful to run 2 770's than a single 780 or 780ti, but I easily could be wrong.
__________________
I7-3930k @ 4.4 Ghz w/ H100i Cooler
EVGA X79 FTW
16GB Mushkin Blackline @ 2133
Samsung 240 series 250gb SSD
3 X EVGA superclocked 660ti (3GB)
Corsair AX860i
Corsair Obsidian 650d
32" ACER 2560 X 1440
kpat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 07:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Upgrading my GTX 590

Yes it would, a tad over 780ti performance, but for the same price you could have over 780 performance and double that with 2 290s. You can also flash reference models with the 290x bios, and have a grand worth of cards for 800, that will perform way better than 2 770s.

It makes more sense for the money. Trust me, I'm Nvidia biased due to drivers alone, but I cannot recommend anything else but a badass deal from AMD when the time comes. That time is now. 2 280x cards would be better than 2 770s as well, for 600 bucks total which is also one of those deals. (280x = 7970GHz rebrand)

When I say I downsampled, I mean rendering 2560x1600 and outputting to the screen at 1920x1200 from scaling. So I know where your performance issues are coming from, but a screaming 590 is still exceptionally good for gaming today.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Upgrading my GTX 590

I often see people talking about reference models, and see them for sale on local classified sites. But where do you actually buy them from? I presume an asus or msi for example cannot be flashed as you described.

Thanks again...
__________________
I7-3930k @ 4.4 Ghz w/ H100i Cooler
EVGA X79 FTW
16GB Mushkin Blackline @ 2133
Samsung 240 series 250gb SSD
3 X EVGA superclocked 660ti (3GB)
Corsair AX860i
Corsair Obsidian 650d
32" ACER 2560 X 1440
kpat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Upgrading my GTX 590

Every 290 and 290x right now is reference as they just came out and have a dual bios system.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 01:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Upgrading my GTX 590

I had settled on buying a gtx 690 (used) but i've now come accross somebody selling a gtx titan for 100 dollars more. I know the 690 is faster by itself. But in a year or so to double up on the titans is a viable option where 2 690s in quad sli probably won't be supported as well.

I have a hx850 so i probably wouldn't be able to run 2 690s, but I think i'd do 2 titans. Again, I run a high res monitor so 2gb of vram on the 690 might not treat me as well as the ridiculous amount of vram on the titan

Any opinions or comments welcome!

Thanks in advance!
__________________
I7-3930k @ 4.4 Ghz w/ H100i Cooler
EVGA X79 FTW
16GB Mushkin Blackline @ 2133
Samsung 240 series 250gb SSD
3 X EVGA superclocked 660ti (3GB)
Corsair AX860i
Corsair Obsidian 650d
32" ACER 2560 X 1440
kpat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 01:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Upgrading my GTX 590

Man I really need to sell my 690 at some point.

My single 290 is the bomb. Installed my 2nd last night.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 01:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Man I really need to sell my 690 at some point.

My single 290 is the bomb. Installed my 2nd last night.
Yea gonna get me a 290 too after Christmas. Are they X flashable?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 03:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Upgrading my GTX 590

Some are saying yes, but we'll see if they last or not. Personally I'm just going to grab the beta afterburner and peg every setting to max and call it good until there is some more testing done.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.