Upgrading my Dell XPS 420

Status
Not open for further replies.

TrainerAbu

Solid State Member
I'm a noob, first off. Anyways, I always have wanted to upgrade my computer, but I've been afraid of the pain of it all, especially when I hear people saying that the XPS 420 is way too small and talking about measurements and needing the right size parts to fit it and stuff.

Specs:

Dell XPS 420
Vista 32 Bit
Q6600 @ 2.40 GHz Quad Core
3GB RAM
375 W power supply
21" monitor (1440x900)
8800 GT Nvidia card

The video card goes to 94 degrees C whenever I play a game (like Team Fortress 2 and others) at 40% fan speed. And, I want the best video card that I can buy without it being too expensive.

I have a 8800GT and want to upgrade to the latest video cards that can run Final Fantasy 14 on high settings good.

But I also need more cooling since my video card gets too hot. However, there's a certain amount of space in the XPS 420 case so not everything will work, I'm assuming from what I read people say online.

What are some things you suggest that I buy, especially for cooling/fans?

And while I'm here, I just replaced my sound system with a new logitech more expensive one a few months ago, but now the left speaker doesn't work (it works sometimes and occasionally makes little fuzzy noises,) oh well.

Looks like your GPU temps are way too high and fan speed way too low! you should try to keep your gpu under 90c , you could always increase the fan speeds your self. But your fan should increase to more speed reaching those temps.

If you plan on upgrading a Video card i would highly recommend buying a new Power supply, even a descent 450w one would do, im not sure what PSU's dell uses but i think that they use cheap ones that don't output allot of power. Dont get me wrong you can still run like a 5770 of that power-supply but not recommended.