Upgrading my dell 600$ limit - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2005, 09:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

60$ mobo nothing expensive needed really.
320$6800gt pcie
50$ case looks pretty sick too me
73$ 500w psu
30$ cooling for the cpu nothing fancy but nothing fancy needed
get 120mm fan and an 80mm fan and ull be set

Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Move to AMD as well?? Seeing as they perform better at games.


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

Timmer, i dont think that PSU is that great. I would go with a Thermaltake Silent Purepower 460 watter for an AGP setup, an OCZ Modstream 510 watter for a PCIE setup

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 11:38 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2

Wow guys, thanks for all your help. So I think for now I'm just going to get an 6800 GT and that PSU and then in a month or two when I have more money I might look into stripping it down.
tweeter0830 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 11:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
I used to have a Dell Dimension 8300 as well. And I upgraded the crap out of it. So don't let anyone tell you can't upgrade it. Not only did I own one, but i work on Dell's all the time. And I upgrade them for people. Believe me, i know Dell PC's very well. I should go to india and become Dell Tech. Support. LOL - i don't think so..

The only parts that "ARE" propriotery are the Motherboard and the Case. You can upgrade anything else you want. The biggest problem is that the MOBO is a big piece of crap. NO OVERCLOCKING ABILITY AT ALL. No hardware monitoring in BIOS, no tweaking of voltages. Channel 2 dimm slots are on a wierd freakin angle... The case is so small inside. ZERO AIRFLOW. The case also opens on a stupid hingle... dumb design. I hated it.
Oh, if anything happens to the MOBO, "like my channel 1 dimm slot died" to replace the 8300 MOBO costs $190.00 with S&H.

250w PSU? Piece of crap. I put the PCP&C Turbo-Cool 425w PSU in it. And now i'm using it for my rebuild. This PSU is holding up really well in my new system.

P4 3.4ghz, 2gig RAM, 4 SATA HDD'S, 2 optical drives, 1 floppy/card reader, aerocool gatewatch, 3 case fans, UV lights, X800XT PE, caselights, SB audigy 2... No issues with only 425w.
I heard dell started using the same power connector pinout's as normal people now, can you confirm or deny this?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 05:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

Yes, the newer Dell Model 8200-Current all use standard 20 or 24 pin connectors. The only problem is dell doesn't use PSU's with PSU switches. I guess they don't see the need for them. So the case is fabricated with out a opening for a switch. Which makes upgrading a PSU in a dell difficult. That's were PC POWER & COOLING came in. They've designed a few PSU's without power switches and DUBBED them, "FOR DELL". You could also cut a hole out for a PSU with a power switch if you have the right tools. But, not too many people are going to do that.

The only thing I would ever buy from Dell is their, "W4200HD Plasma TV." They actually have produced something that isn't a piece of ****.

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.