Upgrading my dell 600$ limit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2005, 03:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Upgrading my dell 600$ limit

Ok, So here's the deal. I have a Dell Dimension 8300 and I'm sick of it's inability t play any new games so I'm planning an upgrade. I have about 600$ to spend and I was thinking about getting a Nvidia 6800 GT, maybe a little more ram, but I don't know what else I would need to replace to make that work. My power supply if only 250 W So I think I'd need to replace that. Here are my specs, tell me if you need anything more any help would be greatly appreciated.

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.60GHz
Speed : 2.59GHz
Performance Rating : PR3450 (estimated)
SMT Support : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Standard
L2 On-board Cache : 512kB ECC Synchronous ATC (8-way sectored, 64 byte line size)

Mainboard
Bus(es) : X-Bus AGP PCI IMB USB i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 CPU(s)
MP APIC : Yes
System BIOS : Dell Computer Corporation A05
System : Dell Computer Corporation Dimension 8300
Mainboard : Dell Computer Corp. 0M2035
Total Memory : 1023MB DDR-SDRAM

Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 3.0-3-3-8CL 1CMD
Bank 1 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 3.0-3-3-8CL 1CMD
Channels : 2
Speed : 2x 200MHz (400MHz data rate)
Multiplier : 1/1x
Width : 64-bit
Refresh Rate : 7.80µs
Performance Acceleration Technology : Yes
Power Save Mode : No
Fixed Hole Present : No

Chipset 1
Model : Dell Computer Corp 82875P,E7210 Memory Controller Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 1024MB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 200MHz (400MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Default Monitor
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200

Physical Storage Devices
Removable Drive : Floppy disk drive
Hard Disk : ST3120026AS (111.8GB)
CD-ROM/DVD : SAMSUNG CD-R/RW SW-248F (CD 48X Rd, 48X Wr)
CD-ROM/DVD : SAMSUNG DVD-ROM SD-616T (CD 48X Rd) (DVD 6X Rd)

Logical Storage Devices
1.44MB 3.5" (A : N/A
Hard Disk (C : 111.7GB (29.9GB, 27% Free) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (D : N/A
CD-ROM/DVD (E : N/A

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : Creative SB Live! Series (WDM)
Device : Game Port for SB Live! Series

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional (Win32 x86/IA32) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)
__________________

tweeter0830 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You have to get a dell PSU, which they do not sell seperatley, so you can not upgrade that. A 250 watt PSU will not take a 6800 gt, so you are stuck there.

Here is what I sugest, get a new case, new PSU, new motherboard, new CPU and a 6600gt. You have 1gb of ram already, that is more than good for todays games, someone will have to confirm wether they use standard RAM, or if they change something in the ram, like change the pins around, change the placement of the notch etc.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Believe you can buy separately, they're pc power and cooling psus, but $$$. Plus a 6800gt ouaght to do. As for which pc power and cooling, i don't know.
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 08:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc....php?show=S41D

that will work for your dell, a high quality 410 watt PSU for $99.

Then just add a nice vid card, maybe a new heatsink & fan for your CPU to do a little overclocking, or get a raptor HDD or something cool like that.
macdawg is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Then just add a nice vid card, maybe a new heatsink & fan for your CPU to do a little overclocking, or get a raptor HDD or something cool like that.
Overclock? On a Dell? What you been smokin?

As said above, you'll either need a new PSU (from Dell, and Dell alone) and a card, or go with a new build scavenging what parts you can.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 10:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Someone did that, i remeber, the 9100, i believe. They took a soldering iron to the processor or something and managed a very good oc.

Roger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 08:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I used to have a Dell Dimension 8300 as well. And I upgraded the crap out of it. So don't let anyone tell you can't upgrade it. Not only did I own one, but i work on Dell's all the time. And I upgrade them for people. Believe me, i know Dell PC's very well. I should go to india and become Dell Tech. Support. LOL - i don't think so..

The only parts that "ARE" propriotery are the Motherboard and the Case. You can upgrade anything else you want. The biggest problem is that the MOBO is a big piece of crap. NO OVERCLOCKING ABILITY AT ALL. No hardware monitoring in BIOS, no tweaking of voltages. Channel 2 dimm slots are on a wierd freakin angle... The case is so small inside. ZERO AIRFLOW. The case also opens on a stupid hingle... dumb design. I hated it.
Oh, if anything happens to the MOBO, "like my channel 1 dimm slot died" to replace the 8300 MOBO costs $190.00 with S&H.

250w PSU? Piece of crap. I put the PCP&C Turbo-Cool 425w PSU in it. And now i'm using it for my rebuild. This PSU is holding up really well in my new system.

P4 3.4ghz, 2gig RAM, 4 SATA HDD'S, 2 optical drives, 1 floppy/card reader, aerocool gatewatch, 3 case fans, UV lights, X800XT PE, caselights, SB audigy 2... No issues with only 425w.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 09:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

PCP&C has a separate page just for Dell PSUs, so I'd say get it from them. It might be pricey, but its quality. As for a video card, yea, you could get an AGP 6800 GT. Also, a 2.6ghz CPU might be a bit of a bottleneck for for a 6800 GT. It might be worth it to upgrade to 3.2ghz or so.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 09:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Why not just strip the dell and buy another motherboard, case, PSU and video card? Now you have a custom PC and can overclock!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

sorry but to replace a mobo on a dell alls u need is the same socket as the cpu and a new case. my suggestion to u is to get a new mobo, new case, new psu, a 6800gt pci express. i belive that is a 478 socket so just get a 478 socket board with pcie. and maybe some better cooling for the cpu so u can overclock.
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.