Upgrading my CPU to an e8400? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2009, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

I'm getting a really bad bottleneck effect with my e2200 and my XFX 9800gt, in games like Tf2 it dips to 15 sometimes.

Someone recommended that e8400, but I was stupid enough to buy a dell (Inspiron 518) and in the past, I made a topic stating that I was getting bottlenecked, and someone replied by saying that in order to switch the CPU, I would need a new mother board, and because its a dell case, it wouldnt fit...Is this true? If it is then I'm just gonna give up, because I CANNOT SHOP ONLINE, and I CANNOT OVERCLOCK MY CPU BECAUSE THIS IS A DELL PC

So I'm stuck, any ideas?
__________________

TekBubs is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

A new motherboard should fit fine if you get the correct size of motherboard - if you have an mATX case, get an mATX motherboard - ATX case, ATX motherboard. Unless Dell has decided to create some strange standard of their own.

And it is entirely possible you would have to replace the motherboard to upgrade, as many of the older S775 motherboards do not support the 45nm 775 processors such as the E8400.

If you do upgrade, an E8400 would be perfect.

Why can't you shop online? I got the build in my sig before I was 16, by getting my parents to order, if age is a problem.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

Alright, thanks man

I mainly use Tiger Direct (The canadian one) tigerdirect.ca

Can you help me pick out a cheap one that you think would fit the inspiron 518 case? I would greatly appreciate it
TekBubs is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

Instead of TigerDirect, try using Newegg.ca or NCIX (both Canadian). If TD or NE has it cheaper than NCIX, then you can pricematch with NCIX for the lower price.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

Carnage ive said it in a lot of posts including this one, I cant buy online, TD is my only option

thanks for the suggestions though
TekBubs is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 12:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

I am pretty sure but I think that Dell uses proprietary part being that is it not a standard ATX or M-ATX.
__________________

Core i7 920 DO
Silverstone 700W Modular
EVGA 570 GTX 800/1600
3x2GB G.Skill 2000Mhz
Gigabyte Ud7
Corsair 800D

Galaxy 460 GTX PPU
Inked is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 12:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

TigerDirect is online...?
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 07:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

TigerDirect is both...Wow :l

Why is it so hard to get a legitimate answer on these forums now...Stop telling me about NewEgg and stuff its the same people over and over again and I already said millions of times I cant buy online
TekBubs is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 07:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

Ya, an e8400 would be a decent way of removing that huge bottleneck you have, but we can't say for sure if Dell's BIOS even supports an e8400. Go update that to the latest version, and see any feedback about it supporting 45nm..

I wouldn't advise buying from TD, but considering your case, you maybe forced to. But if you know your local area, check out a Microcenter or Fry's Electronics, both are Geek heaven's retail stores, and you may have one (or both) around you...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU to an e8400?

Haha never heard of em, They might be American stores

(Im canadian)

But ill look around
__________________

TekBubs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Success e8400 @ 4.23 ghz newbiebuilderguy Overclocking and Modding 20 02-12-2009 02:06 AM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM
Problem Installing CPU Noniy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-24-2008 03:04 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.