Upgrading my Computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Psychoxr20

Solid State Member
Hi, first time posting here.

I'm looking to upgrade my computer. I've done upgrades before, but the last time I got any new parts was a little over 3 years ago, so I am feeling kind of rusty. I want to make sure that all the parts I am getting are compatible before I buy them. Being a poor college student, I am on a somewhat tight budget, so I have chosen parts I feel are quality enough for what I need (mainly gaming) but cheap enough that I can afford them. Here's what I got so far.

Motherboard
BIOSTAR A770 AMD Motherboard
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR A770 A2+ AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Processor
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Dual-Core Processor
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

RAM
CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800
Newegg.com - CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Graphics Card
EVGA GeForce 8800GT 512MB
Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Power Supply
COOLMAX 700WPower Supply
Newegg.com - COOLMAX CUG-700B 700W ATX 12V( V.2.2) Power Supply 115/ 230 V - Power Supplies

I'm not trying to build a monster of a system, I just need something that will hold me over for 6-12 months or so until I graduate (been playing off a Athlon 3200+ and a GeForce 7800 for the last three years). I've read various reviews and I am fairly certain that the motherboard and processor are compatible, but I'm a little unsure on the ram, and I could use some advice on the power supply as well (it had good reviews and it's cheap).

Any insight would be much appreciated.