Upgrading...Mucho help necesito para el noobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2006, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Default Upgrading...help noob

December 04 as a gift my pops gets me a new computer. I really haven't known much about computers until like a month-2 months ago. But I have 512mb of ram, an amd athlon xp 3200+ 2.20ghz, crappiest 64mb vid card, crappy onboard sound, and everything else complete crap. I recently got a 360 and a lot of stuff for it so I dont really have enough for a complete build, but I wanna spend like 300-400 on an upgrade.

New motherboard - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127179
I selected this because my processor is socket A. That means no pci-e, so I figured I should get something that can support the 6800gs.
New RAM - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227054
I would eventually get a 2nd one of these.
New Vid Card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130002

I'm basically using this for some photoshopping,some video editing,itunes,aim,internet,and occasionally some bf2

Another ? - Could these selections let my pc run BF2MC on max settings?

Please help a noob in need.

nylax4 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315

mike i told you you should be able to play bf2 well


AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 08:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69

nylax4 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Looks good! If you aren't gonna overclock, I suggest saving yourself a couple bucks and getting valueRAM. That will have no problem running BF2.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 08:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69

Will it be able to run BF2 on max settings though?
New RAM - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141423
nylax4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.