Upgrading memory on old Sony Viao - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Upgrading memory on old Sony Viao

My Sony PCV-RX550 came standard with 256mb on ram when I bought it in late 2000. Now i'm looking to upgrade the memory to 512 mb. Right now that computer has two sticks of 128mb, and the salesman at computer city say I need to buy two sticks of 256 in order to get to 512mb. Is this true, or can I buy one stick of 512mb ram and just leave the other slot open? If I remember correctly the type of ram used is PC133 SDRAM.

Thanks.
__________________

phatrick88 is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

get 2 sticks of 512, and have a total of 1 gig, if it supports it
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

512 is the max or else I would
phatrick88 is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i dunno if you should risk getting a 512 stick.. the motherboard may not support 1 stick with that much ram.. it would be safest to go with 2x256
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 10:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
i dunno if you should risk getting a 512 stick.. the motherboard may not support 1 stick with that much ram.. it would be safest to go with 2x256
I agree if 512 is the max then get 2x256
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.