Upgrading with limited funds - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2007, 01:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

can you put another 7600gt in sli on your mobo? do 7600gt's run in sli?
i put a second 7900gs in my rig monday and immediately raised my 3dmark05 up over 3000 points, with both running at stock. speaking of running at stock somebody help me with my overclocking post.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 02:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Yes, the 7600GTs do SLI, but that's no use, when a single 8800GTS, will single handedly, crush them.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 02:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

tru nuff, unless you can get one for cheap cheap like i got my 7900gs. stave off the dx10 monster for a little while anyway till those 8800 640mb prices drop to a reasonable price.
cdub by cheap i mean like 50 bucks if you can find one for that. if your mobo is even sli i guess that would be pretty important
p.s. i wonder how my two cards overclocked would stand against an 8800 320mb? prolly pretty decently i imagine.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 03:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
can you put another 7600gt in sli on your mobo? do 7600gt's run in sli?
i put a second 7900gs in my rig monday and immediately raised my 3dmark05 up over 3000 points, with both running at stock. speaking of running at stock somebody help me with my overclocking post.
what oc'n post is that?

and if you wanted to hold back on the g8800, you could still sell the 7600gt and get a x1950xt as proposed earlier. and yeah his comp may need a little work but in games thats not what is holding him back. 1gb is plenty as long as he's not running stuff in the background and the PD is not that bad.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 04:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

ya but i think a pd might bottleneck, an 8800 gts 640, i think the sapphire x1950 xt will suffice (its rumored to be overclockable to xtx [a card that costs another 90$ more] speeds)
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 04:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

I was thinking about upgrading to 2 gigs of ram then after that get a new processor and then finally upgrade to a 320mb 8800GTS. But if yall think i could put a 8800GTS in my rig without any bottlenecking then im for that for sure.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 04:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

ya u can put an 8800 gts 320 but NOT a GTX, i recommend u overclock ur CPU a bit, to negate the bottleneck if it does occur...
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 04:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Hey Cdub,

I think your sig is, too wide...I could be wrong. Just put the XFire sig, under your specs sig.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 05:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

yeah just oc a little, hit 3ghz+ and then an 8800 will do just fine. i doubt they're will be a HUGE difference in performance anyways.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 06:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdLeft152 View Post
what oc'n post is that?
sli overclocking
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Upgrading Old PC techsquad New Systems | Building and Buying 30 05-16-2007 11:02 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM
How do I limit internet access on a limited account on Windows XP Home Edition? gmanr26 Internet Software and Browsers 3 04-02-2007 10:40 AM
Upgrading Computer. alex12345 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.